2 Truths About Career, Business and Goals

2 Truths to NEVER forget 🤔

 

Hey, hope you're well.Here's your digest for this week. Hope you find these, inspiring and encouraging.

THOUGHT OF THE WEEK

2 Truths About Career, Business and Goals(approximately 2 min read)

In the world of growing in your career, business or more generally, goal reaching , it's important to remember 2 lessons;

1. You're better than you think

2. You're not as good as you think

Let’s take these one at a time.But first, remember that partnership I talked about a few newsletters ago?Yea the deal went through, and I got what I asked for - a fair and equitable deal for both our parties.Due to an NDA, I can’t give more details, suffice to say I’m happy with it.So these 2 lessons are pulled from the first few weeks of working together.

1. You're better than you think

When we compare ourselves to those ahead of us in a given field, we tend to think there’s some secret knowledge they’ve acquired that we are yet to. We think, they must have grasped complex ideas that we don’t.While this might be true with a few things, more often they have just mastered the fundamentals.And I’m finding this to be the case. The strategies this new partner has employed for his clients are very similar to those my company has employed for our clients. Naturally there are some slight variances, but by and large, we’re very similar.The partner has just nailed it down, almost to a science….and that brings me to my next point.

2. You're not as good as you think

The refinement of the systems this partner has brought is truly impressive.His company’s obsession with improving all systems in the business is very inspiring.While I am skilled with the “What”, they are skilled with both the “What” and the “How”.And perhaps it is for this reason they’ve risen to their current status.In working together, I am learning a lot about what it takes to run a truly successful email agency at scale.And together, we’ll continue to sharpen each other’s businesses and enrich each other’s lives.

To conclude;As much as my confidence has grown due to the first point (i.e. You’re better than you think), I’m equally enjoying the challenges brought about by the second (i.e. You’re not as good as you think).You must remember these 2 principles.Holding these 2 truths simultaneously will keep you confident and humble.They will work in tandem to increase your hunger and ultimately, your capacity to achieve more than you probably even imagined.

SONG I ENJOYED THIS WEEK

Jack Harlow - Stop Giving Me Advice

I like the evolution (and seeming maturity) I'm seeing in Jack. Naturally, I still don't agree with every single thing he says, but it's very refreshing to see an artist go from young debauched celebrations to weightier subject matter, like the burden of growing in the public eye. Jack is growing and I'm here for it.Listen now by clicking below or the image.

VIDEO I ENJOYED THIS WEEK

8 Life Changing Lessons I Learned from Charlie Munger

In this video, business guru (in the best sense of the word), Alex Hormozi shares lessons he learned from the late Charlie Munger (long time business partner and best friend to Warren Buffet). Lesson number 8 stuck out the most to me as it so succinctly summarizes the reason I do a lot of what I do. Why have I chosen what to many is the more difficult and complicated path of entrepreneurship? One word: Independence. That is one thing you cannot put a price on.Watch by clicking the image.

That's it for this week.Love you,ShopéP.S. Have you heard my latest song Ten (Mewa) and watched my latest YT video, 10 Surprising Habits that changed my life?

SOCIALS

Follow me on your favourite platform. Hint: I'm most active on YT & Tik Tok 

Reply

or to participate.