2024 New Years Resolution

2024 New Years Resolution

 

Hey, hope you're well.Here's your digest for this week. Hope you find these, inspiring and encouraging.

THOUGHT OF THE WEEK

I don't believe in New Years Resolutions...normally(approximately 3 min read)First, thank you to those who reached out after last week’s newsletter. Something about it resonated with a lot of you and I appreciate your kind words.I will continue to keep you posted on how things continue to develop career-wise.On to this week…I don’t believe in New Years Resolutions…I haven’t for a long time.I feel like anything significant enough in one’s life should be started as soon as possible.In fact a favorite mantra of mine is, “Why delay until tomorrow, what can be done today?”.As a result, whenever new years come around, while I do take stock of where I am and where I’d like to be, the past few years haven’t been met with sweeping resolutions - just a committment to keep doing the good things well.All that said, I cannot explain what it is, but this time feels different.Maybe it’s the noticeable growth I’ve experienced this year in different parts of my life…Maybe it’s the sense of indecisiveness with all the opportunities that seem available to me…Maybe it’s the fact that, I’ve taken some major risks this year and have seen some pay off, while waiting for others to hopefully pay off…Maybe it’s just the fact that I am getting older (still in my 30s), and have a deeper sense of the fleetingness of time…Maybe it’s the fact that I’m reading the book “The 4hr Workweek” for the second time in 1 month…Or maybe it’s the fact that my 6yr old said to me last week “You’re always working, Dada”…Maybe it’s a combination of all of the above.But in the coming year, I have a palpable desire to do things differently.It sounds cliche to say, work smarter not harder, but when truly applied, you begin to see and understand the power of that statement.I have worked hard for many years. I know how to pull the all nighters, the full days, the feverish race to achieve more, at the expense of enjoying the time.In 2024, I know hard work will still be required in many ways, but I am determined to work smarter.The primary goal I want to accomplish this year is this; achieve more with less effort. And I have a plan on how to achieve this!I want to do more, make more, grow more, but work less.More music, more Youtube videos, more money….and all that with more time to spare!Why? So that I can enjoy the days I’ve been given with the people I’ve been given.I want to learn to truly enjoy time with my wife and kids without my mind being pre-occupied with the next project or task.I want to continue growing spiritual disciplines, which cannot be accomplished without stopping and focusing one’s mind.I know how to hustle. I know how to work. I know how to grind.What I’ve forgotten over the past 10+ years, is how to rest in between the grind.I hope and pray to change that in 2024. Thank you for staying with me all 2023 and reading these weekly newsletters. Lord willing, I’ll be able to serve you more and better insights in the coming year.

Now you tell me, what are you hoping (and working) for in 2024?P.S. New song in January

SONG I ENJOYED THIS WEEK

Russ - Said It Freestyle

You don't have to like Russ to recognize he's special. I love when he gets introspective and motivational. This was especially helpful this week as I was thinking about the coming year.Listen now by clicking below or the image.

VIDEO I ENJOYED THIS WEEK

How to (quickly) make progress in life

3 simple principles to change your life. i.) Develop a vision ii.) Weaponize your attention iii.) Surrender to the possibilitiesThey aren't easy, but they are simple. Highly recommend you watch this video.Watch by clicking the image.

That's it for this week.Love you,ShopéP.P.S. Have you heard my latest song Ten (Mewa) and watched my latest YT video, 10 Surprising Habits that changed my life?

SOCIALS

Follow me on your favourite platform. Hint: I'm most active on YT & Tik Tok 

Reply

or to participate.