Breaking Bad Habits and Finding Your Tribe

Breaking Bad Habits and Finding Your Tribe

 

Hey, how'd your week go? Let me know by simply replying to this email.Here's your digest for this week. Hope you find these, inspiring and encouraging.

THOUGHT OF THE WEEK

On breaking bad habits.

In the book, Atomic Habits by James Clear, one point he makes is that, those with the most self-control (or will power), are those who rarely have to use it. Contrary to popular belief, strength isn’t primarily found in withstanding a difficult situation. It is in avoiding such situations altogether, if possible.I once heard a celebrity say, “I know I’m strong not when I avoid a situation, but when I go into that situation and don’t do the thing”While that sounds heroic, it’s actually very foolish and defies human history, science and human psychology.When given the chance to do something we have a predisposition to, we will more often than not do that very thing.Thus, there is no nobility in putting yourself in harms way, just to see if you can evade it at the last minute.True nobility and wisdom is optimizing your life in such a way as to be conducive to the kind of person you want to become.It is optimizing your life in such a way as to avoid potential pitfalls, and equipping yourself for the unexpected attacks that you will still face in life.But you don’t intentionally put yourself in that position.

VIDEO I ENJOYED THIS WEEK

"Niche Down" Is Terrible Advice (For Smart People)

I just discovered Dan Koe and WOW. It's difficult to clearly explain what watching this video did to my mind, except to say that it kinda put some words and framework to what my life currently looks like...and probably yours as well. The life of a Polymath (a person of wide learning across different disciplines). And with this framework I have a new sense of clarity about the direction of my personal brand and what it means for the people I serve - people like YOU. Highly recommend you watch this video no matter what stage in your career you are.Watch by clicking the image.

SONG I ENJOYED THIS WEEK

L.A.X. - Sempe 

No preamble today. Just some sweet Afrobeats and Afroswing vibes here.Listen now by clicking the image.

BOOK/ARTICLE I ENJOYED THIS WEEK

Spend better, not less: Duke behavioural economics expert on his top 4 money tips.

Interesting and helpful article on how to curb bad spending habits. It's a little contrary to the standard advice to just "spend less". This article gives a much more rounded perspective. Worth reading.Enjoy the article by simply clicking the image.

That's it for this week.Love you,ShopéP.S. Have you watched my latest YT video Why I'm Leaving TWITTER for THREADS

SOCIALS

Follow me on your favourite platform. Hint: I'm most active on YT & Tik Tok 

Reply

or to participate.