Don’t be a thief

Don’t be a thief...😬

 

Hey, hope you're well.Here's your digest for this week. Hope you find these, inspiring and encouraging.

THOUGHT OF THE WEEK

Don't be a thief

(approximately 3 min read)

Don’t rob others of the opportunity to grow...This is a new lesson I am really fighting to learn.I’m at this interesting place in one of my businesses where I’m starting to train others in the roles I’ve always done myself.The goal is to get the business to a point where it can run without me, but that training takes time.So when things need to get done in the business, my instinct is to just do it myself...it’s “quicker” and we can move on to the next thing.But I have to fight that impulse because it’s shortsighted.Not only does it work against the goal of removing me from the business operations, it also robs my team of the opportunity to grow and learn new skills.This is a very tough lesson because it means I have to choose to slow down and not do certain things (that I think are quick and easy).Instead, I have to allow others to work at it slowly until they reach proficiency.It can seem noble to have an “I’ll do it myself” mentality.While sometimes that’s necessary, as a default posture, I’m beginning to doubt its nobility.Additionally, it might seem extreme to call this impulse a form of selfishness, but in a way, it is.The process of learning something new is rarely comfortable - at least not for me.It is riddled with discomfort, angst and a fair bit of frustration as I attempt to wrap my head around the subject matter.I’m sure you can relate.Whether it’s practising a jump shot (I’m still terrible), learning an instrument, or upskilling via a professional development course, there’s a period of strenuous work.A zone of discomfort where comprehension of the material lies just beyond your current sphere of understanding.But can you remember the feeling when it finally clicks? There’s a sense of accomplishment and satisfaction like no other.You feel relieved, proud of yourself and a new confidence in the subject area emerges.Additionally, you have now objectively increased your value in the marketplace.I’ve had this feeling in many areas of my business and realize that it is in fact selfish to rob others of these moments.So it is actually a benefit to both my team & I, to train and coach them in areas of the business that up until now, I’ve been solely responsible for.How would you apply this to your specific situation?In your family, at your job/business, in your personal relationships? I can’t spell it out for you.Just ask yourself, “In my life are there people who would benefit from learning to do for themselves the things they currently depend on me for?” If the answer is yes, then slow your pace, refrain from simply “taking it on,” and pivot to training and coaching them.It’s a tough lesson! But sometimes in life, you have to slow down to go faster.Until next week!P.S. New song coming soon

ICYMI: New YT Video

I pitched a $10M company...and failed (2 Important Things I Learned)

Just dropped the Youtube version of last week's newsletter for those among us who prefer watching over reading. Enjoy!

STREAM MUSIC

That's it for this week.Love you,Shopé

SOCIALS

Follow me on your favourite platform. Hint: I'm most active on YT & Tik Tok 

Reply

or to participate.