How to eat an elephant

How to eat an elephant 🐘

 

Hey, hope you're well.Here's your digest for this week. Hope you find these, inspiring and encouraging.

THOUGHT OF THE WEEK

How to eat an elephant!(approximately 4 min read)

When was the last time you stopped and slowed your paceI’m learning that one of the main things that discourages people from reaching for big ideas is looking at big end results.Here’s what I mean;If you think to yourself, I want to lose 100lbs, and start watching a fitness pro who has his/her;

  • Daily macronutrients need and consumption perfectly calculated

  • Caloric intake measured down to the kcal

  • Resting metabolic rate calculated

  • Meals pre-cooked and pre-apportioned

  • A pre-determined workout routine scheduled 4-6x per week

  • A fixed daily routine that has them in bed by 10:13PM and up at 5:13AM sharp

What is likely to happen?You are very likely to feel very discouraged.They have a well defined system that has been tailored to help them achieve their fitness goals.The scenario here is fitness, but it really applies to any goal you have. Financial, Personal, Family, Fitness, etc.When as a beginner, you look at the intricacies of a mature project, it can feel very overwhelming.You think to yourself, 

“I don’t have all of these things in place”

“I don’t have the money or time to set this all up”

“I don’t even know how to implement this myself”But remember, that what you see is the product of time and very often, the combined contribution of multiple people, each with skills and insights that have been leveraged to create what you now see.Because of this feeling of being overwhelmed, many kill their dreams even before trying because it feels too hard, complicated and difficult.But remember this powerful lesson; the people you admire who achieved these lofty goals or built these big projects, did not do it all themselves…and thus, neither will you!At least, you should be thinking this way, if you hope to reach your goal in an optimal manner.So let me ask you this question;How do you eat an elephant?It’s a simple answer; one bite at a time.All you have to do is figure out the next step.Do NOT concern yourself with steps 4, 5, 6….even step 3.Just think to yourself, “What obstacle am I facing right now?”Next, ask yourself, what is the best and quickest way to solve this problem?Sometimes, that might mean more research to learn how to solve it yourself, or hiring someone  to help you solve it.By the way, if you have the resources to, I advise you hire someone to help you solve it (and show you how they did it) because there’s an opportunity cost associated with time, and success often favours speed.The quicker you can solve a problem, the quicker you can move to the next level and start solving bigger problems.So if possible, pay someone to help you solve the problem, keeping an eye on how they solve it.Personally, this could mean buying a course, hiring a trainer, cook, etc.In business, this might look like hiring someone to take over a task/department, instead of trying to do it all yourself.But that’s it!You only need to know how to take the next bite.Follow this step-wise approach and in no time, you’ll look back and realize how far you’ve come.In fact, you might find that your little project is starting to resemble the highly complex ones that once intimidated you.And just so you know, this is true for me too.I’m building more systems and processes in my businesses and I find myself tempted to feel overwhelmed when I compare myself to other more established companies.But as soon as I remember to focus on the next bite, not only does my anxiety abate, I get clarity on what exactly to execute on next.Once I do that, things move forward for me.So I’m constantly having to remind myself of this, especially as someone who likes to be well organized and planned out.In sum, taking a measured approach and understanding that it won’t all happen at once, is key to your success.So I ask you;What’s the next bite you have to take?

SONG I ENJOYED THIS WEEK

Odeal - Be Easy

Another week of Odeal. "Be Easy" was his viral heat and is what I've been bumping this week. It's bouncy Afrofusion.Listen now by clicking below or the image.

VIDEO I ENJOYED THIS WEEK

God or the Devil w/ Daniel Caesar

This is a very interesting video. It's a little unsettling, particularly if you align with a Christian worldview. Regardless, I believe there's often something to be learned from almost anyone. 2 massive names in music, Montell and Daniel discuss fame, music, faith and spirituality. There is no resolution, but there is a palpable sense of dis-ease.Watch by clicking the image.

That's it for this week.Love you,ShopéP.S. Have you heard my latest song Ten (Mewa) and watched my latest YT video, 10 Surprising Habits that changed my life?

SOCIALS

Follow me on your favourite platform. Hint: I'm most active on YT & Tik Tok 

Reply

or to participate.