Get more done by playing video games?

Get more done by playing video games?

 

Hey, hope you're well and have had a great week.Here's your digest for this week. Hope you find these, inspiring and encouraging.

THOUGHT OF THE WEEK

We all have goals and need to put in the overtime until we reach them…YES!

Generally, I’m a big advocate for developing the grit and perseverance to do what’s necessary to accomplish the goals you set.12-14hr days? Do it!Cut your spending by 50% if possible? Yes!Stay in when your peers are going out because you’re laser focused on levelling up? For sure!Suck it up and just do it!I lean into this kind of thinking because I genuinely believe the current discomfort is much less than the eventual regret if you don’t make the necessary sacrifices today.All that said, here’s a little secret: even the most driven souls need a breather.They have “intentional distractions”.It's not about slacking off, being lazy or giving up on our dreams; it's about finding a healthy release that lets us unwind, even if just for a moment.Our subconscious mind is incredibly powerful and often goes to work when our conscious mind shuts down.This is why the act of finding a healthy distraction is so energizing.In reasonable amounts, doing something that literally takes your mind away from the task/goals at hand and lets you “veg out” or “relax” can actually power your pursuit of your goals because when you’re relaxing, your more powerful subconscious mind is still at work on that thing.You simply now have the freedom to not realize your mind (the subconscious) is still working because you’re in “Release Mode”.Which is one of the reasons, when you do go back to the tasks, you feel energized and often have new ideas.Recently, for me this has looked like me going back to a previous passion of mine - video games!Many years ago, I used to play video games for HOURS, but have since stopped due to how busy my schedule is and how obsessive I can get when it comes to building my businesses.Even my downtime has me taking courses or watching educational videos/podcasts to learn something new.This is helpful for my growth, but I started to see that the work-part of my brain is very difficult to shut off, which can be exhausting.I needed an actual release…something that could literally provide relaxation and make my mind stop thinking about work.So I recently picked up my PS4 controllers once again and started playing my favorite video game franchise (Assassin’s Creed).And I’m enjoying it. Few things have the ability to make me stop thinking about work and actually rest like video games.As a relaxation practice, I’m now scheduling blocks in my schedule to play video games. It’s a fun activity that calms me and affords me the momentary rest & relaxation I need from work.So if you aren’t already, I hope you embrace the power of intentional distraction this week.

VIDEO I ENJOYED THIS WEEK

8 Simple Habits That Save Me 20+ Hours a Week

I get obsessed with maximizing my time by being as productive as possible. Well, Ali is widely cited as an expert on personal hacks to boost your productivity. This 8 habits really feel like 30...that's how jam packed with value this video is. Some of these I do already, but I also learned a few new hacks. I recommend watching.Watch by clicking the image.

SONG I ENJOYED THIS WEEK

Adekunle Gold - Kere

AG Baby just dropped a new album. When it comes to Afrosoul, to me Adekunle Gold ranks as one of the best to do it. This is an immediate favourite cut off the new album. Enjoy.Listen now by clicking the image.

BOOK/ARTICLE I ENJOYED THIS WEEK

3 Business Lessons I Learned From Playing Video Games

In my "Thought of the Week" section above, I mentioned, I've recently got back into playing video games, so might as well continue with the theme. I found this article insightful and perhaps encouraging to know that I'm not the only business person who finds gaming enjoyable, enriching and even educational to a degree....educational in a non-intense, non-active learning kinda way. It's an insightful read.Enjoy the article by simply clicking the image.

That's it for this week.Love you,ShopéP.S. Have you watched my latest YT video 3 Keys to making decisions like the Top 1%

SOCIALS

Follow me on your favourite platform. Hint: I'm most active on YT & Tik Tok 

Reply

or to participate.