How to get REALLY good at anything

How to get REALLY good at anything

 

Hey, hope you're well. Had a family reunion this past week that saw family members come in from all over the world. It was amazing and made me realize we need to do it more often.Here's your digest for this week. Hope you find these, inspiring and encouraging.

THOUGHT OF THE WEEK

Over the past few years, I’ve taken to not just accepting things as they come to me, but analyzing how I feel about them, and how they impact me. For example, if I finally buy something from a company, I stop and ask myself why now? Why that specific company? Then I try to trace back to when I first heard about the product/company and how long it took me to get to the point of deciding to buy from them specifically. Or if I stumble on a YT video I enjoyed, I interrogate the process. First, what about the thumbnail/title made me click, and why did I watch all or most of it? At which point did my attention fall off? When I discover a new song I love, I analyze the instrumental, melodies, lyrics, vocal performance, mixing, mastering, overall feel, and so on. It might seem like a tedious activity (and it is), which is why I don’t do it for every single thing. But I do it frequently enough across different categories of my life. The question is why do I do this? Simple: I’m on a mission of lifelong learning.  I want to improve and optimize all categories of my life. Music, Business, Family, Faith etc. And I’m realizing that so much of our everyday life provides a masterclass in growing in any one of these areas. All we have to do is stop and pay attention.So how do you apply this to your own life?

  1. Think about the things you love to do, want to do or want to improve in.

  2. Chances are you already interact with (and enjoy) people, places, companies etc. involved in these things. Stop simply consuming. Start interrogating what EXACTLY it is about these people, places, companies that won you over.

  3. Copy them. Recreate the things they did that worked to win you over as a fan/admirer.

  4. Overtime, you’ll get good enough to incorporate your own flavour.

  5. Teach someone what you’ve learned & applied. Teaching actually deepens your own understanding.

Here’s a quick illustration of how I’ve used this and will continue doing so. When I first started making music, I studied my favourite artists at the time and literally copied their flows and cadences. In fact, at first I sounded exactly like one rapper I used to listen to a lot (if you’re a longtime fan you know who this is lol). Overtime I incorporated that sound with my culture and other influences, resulting in my unique Afrofusion sound today. Recently, I’ve started privately mentoring younger artists who are now at the beginning of their music career. That’s steps 1-5 in my music journey. In other entrepreneurial pursuits, I’m somewhere between Steps 1-4.So go ahead and do it. I’m rooting for you.P.S. New music is on the way!

VIDEO I ENJOYED THIS WEEK

Make Money Online (Without Destroying Your Reputation)

The world has changed with many thousands of people starting and scaling online businesses. People just like you and I who have found success (to the tune of millions) online. Unfortunately, with all good things, there will be bad actors, who often spoil it for the rest. Many have been burned by online businesses that turned out only to be at best, sub par products/services and at worst scams. Although still very profitable, it has made many weary of starting or purchasing from an online business. So how do you start a legitimate online business in a way that doesn't relegate you to the status of fake online guru? This video answers that excellently.Watch by clicking the image.

SONG I ENJOYED THIS WEEK

Meant To Live (Jon Bellion Version) by Swtichfoot, Jon Bellion

Jon Bellion is a RARE breed. He's the kind of musician that instantly makes me feel insecure whenever I hear him 😅. I say that in a very tongue and cheek manner but what I mean is from SANNGGIIINNNGGG (singing) to production, to writing, to playing instruments, to studio engineering he operates at a world class level in ALL OF THEM. In fact, he's the mind (and pen) behind some of the biggest artists in the world like; Rihanna, Maroon 5, Justin Bieber, Halsey, Selena Gomez and more. But of all these perhaps what makes me love Jon more is who he is. He could be much more famous than he is, but has decidedly chosen not to pursue super stardom, instead opting to play the background role of mega artist songwriter/producer, sprinkled in with occasional releases of his own. This release is BEAUTIFUL and nearly brought me to tears. Enjoy.....Oh did I mention, he appears to be a man of faith?Listen now by clicking the image.

BOOK/ARTICLE I ENJOYED THIS WEEK

Gen Z intern shocks recruiter with list of demands including working no more than 5 hours, a start-up culture and an above average salary

To say I found this article comical would be an understatement. It provides a lesson for new Gen Z'ers entering the workforce, and for business owners who are now starting to interact with and hire some of them.Enjoy the article by simply clicking the image.

That's it for this week.Love you,ShopéP.S. Have you watched my latest YT video 3 Keys to making decisions like the Top 1%

SOCIALS

Follow me on your favourite platform. Hint: I'm most active on YT & Tik Tok 

Reply

or to participate.