I’m really struggling…

I’m really struggling… 😫

 

Hey, hope you're well.Here's your digest for this week. Hope you find these, inspiring and encouraging.

THOUGHT OF THE WEEK

I'm really struggling...(approximately 2 min read)

Let me be completely candid with you.I am struggling these days.A few years ago, I was forced to start exploring other opportunities outside of music.Since then, I’ve gained new skills and my general sense of business has grown.Frankly speaking, I’ve also made more money….a lot more money than when all I did was music.I’m grateful for the lessons and what it seems like my life is becoming.That said, I still LOVE music…perhaps more than anything else and it’s tough to imagine a life where that becomes…..dare I say, a hobby!(Ugh! When speaking about my career, I’ve never wanted to put the words “music” and “hobby” in the same sentence).Here’s my challenge; how much money, time and energy do I give to each side?Whenever I hear a great song, something stirs within me. Or whenever I sit down to write (as I did a few days ago), and I create something I truly love, I think to myself, “I am really good at this, and just need to release more consistently”.I immediately start considering what it would require of me to actively release music, 1-2x per month.I know that at that level of output, over a period of time, things will surely look different for me music-wise.No sooner do I start thinking this, do other thoughts come in;But what about this other non-music partnership/opportunity that you’ve been presented with?I’m thankful to be in a position where God seems to be bringing me into new circles with new opportunities being presented.I want to be a part of them as much as I want to keep actively making music.But I really do wonder, if/how I can pour my best into both parts of my life….the creative music side/career and the analytical business side/career.Do I fully cast myself into one and relegate the other to a level of secondary focus?I truly don’t know and honestly, don’t think I’ve ever felt this indecisive in my life.For now, I keep moving forward with both, not knowing if there are opportunity costs I’m paying due to not being wholely invested in one or the other.If you have words for me, I’d appreciate it.No matter how this story turns out, I’ll be sure to keep you updated about it.

SONG I ENJOYED THIS WEEK

Vicki Yohe - Because Of Who You Are

There's nothing like some good ol gospel music. Especially during a week like this one where I was feeling very unsettled, I needed to come back to this classic.Listen now by clicking below or the image.

VIDEO I ENJOYED THIS WEEK

Connor Price’s Viral Formula to Get +650M Spotify Streams

You've probably seen one of his viral Tik Toks. Connor is one of those rare truly independent artists doing extraordinary things with his music. Enjoy this interview on how he and his wife are making it happen.Watch by clicking the image.

That's it for this week.Love you,ShopéP.S. Have you heard my latest song Ten (Mewa) and watched my latest YT video, 10 Surprising Habits that changed my life?

SOCIALS

Follow me on your favourite platform. Hint: I'm most active on YT & Tik Tok 

Reply

or to participate.