Knowing Your Worth

Are you arrogant or confident?

 

Hey, hope you're well. Hope the week has been as exciting for you as it's been for me.Here's your digest for this week. Hope you find these, inspiring and encouraging.

THOUGHT OF THE WEEK

Are You Arrogant or Confident?

(approximately 3 min read)Below is an excerpt of the lyrics for the hook of my latest song, Ten (Mewa).Okurin metaOkurin mefaTimes 2, break it downI’m the centreOkurin metaOkurin mefaObirin mesanObirin mewaObirin, ObirinObirin mewaAs you can see I’m speaking my native language Yoruba, and below is the English translation.3 times the man4 times the manTimes 2, break it downI’m the centre3 times the man4 times the man9 times the woman10 times the womanThe woman, the woman(She’s) 10 times the womanIn Nigerian culture, “Okurin meta” is a popular expression men use to communicate their value.Men love to say “Okurin meta ni mi”, meaning “I’m worth the value of 3 men”.Whether accurately or arrogantly, it’s a way of boldly asserting the value they believe they bring to the table.Personally I don’t think this is inherently wrong. After all, there is something to be said for rightly acknowledging your innate strengths and contribution, particularly in the context of a relationship.The deeper question it raises for me however, is what does true humility mean?A quote I love referring back to is “Humility isn’t thinking less of yourself, it’s thinking of yourself less”.So true humility isn’t in denying what is objectively true.If you’ve got incredible talent in a given area, it’s a false humility & veiled pride to cower and downplay your real skill.It’s ok to say “I AM EXCELLENT AT (Insert Your Thing Here)”.What happens next however is where it often tips into pride and arrogance.Are you then as a result of your skill, obsessed with yourself? Navel gazing as they say.Do you pre-occupy your own imagination?Does much of your internal dialogue revolve around your own desires, pursuits, ambitions and strengths?If so, you (and I), might be guilty of pushing past the healthy boundaries of confident humility.Another litmus test I often use to assess humility is the following question;Can you joyfully acknowledge another person’s skill at the same thing you’re skilled at?One step further, if they are better than you are, can you celebrate that without a sting of envy and jealousy?That’s a tough one.This was the thought that motivated the second half of the hook’s lyrics.As much as I know I am worth the value of 3-4 men in my marriage, I know my wife is easily worth the value of 9-10 women.Much more can be said about this, but I’ll leave it there.I hope today you walk in confident humility.If you haven’t yet, check out my new song “Ten (Mewa)” today.Stream it, Add it to your playlist, Share it with a friend.Doing any one of these 3 things (or all 3), goes further than you even understand.

SONG I ENJOYED THIS WEEK

Shopé - Ten (Mewa)

It's out! Took almost a year to get a new song out, but alas it's here and I couldn't be more proud of how it's turned out. So far, the feedback is quite positive. This is especially for those who love chill Afrobeat and Afrofusion. Listen now by clicking below or the image.

VIDEO I ENJOYED THIS WEEK

The END of Sam Bankman Fried

I enjoy stories of money gone wrong. Perhaps as a steady reminder to myself, it's instructional to see just how far greed can take a person. I'm a fan of crypto and believe the fundamental premise is here to stay. That said, I also know that particularly because of how new the tech is, the space was/is filled with a number of bad actors....Sam Bankman Fried might just be the worst of them all. This fascinating video documents his trial of what could be the biggest financial crimes case in modern history....Yes, bigger than Bernie Madoff's ponzi scheme.Watch by clicking the image.

That's it for this week.Love you,ShopéP.S. Have you seen my latest YT video, 10 Surprising Habits that changed my life?

SOCIALS

Follow me on your favourite platform. Hint: I'm most active on YT & Tik Tok 

Reply

or to participate.