How to Make Decisions, Being Broke, Self-Awareness

How to Make Decisions, Being Broke, Self-Awareness

 

Hey, hope your week went well. Mine's been interesting to say the least. As is the nature of life, peaks and valleys abound, often simultaneously. Just keep walking.Here's your digest for this week. Hope you find these, inspiring and encouraging.

THOUGHT OF THE WEEK

A friend had a non-criminal legal situation and had to decide whether to hire an attorney or handle it himself. The friend chose to handle it himself to save money, but later discovered that there was a faster legal pathway he could have taken from the beginning with the help of a lawyer.

We all face many decisions on a daily basis, whether small and insignificant or major and life altering. Here’s a simple framework I use to help with my decisions.

There are three costs to consider when making decisions: financial cost, time cost, and opportunity cost.

Financial cost refers to the dollar figure associated with a decision.

Time cost is the time commitment required from me as a result of that decision. Important to note is the fact that, time is more important than money because time is finite and cannot be regained.

Opportunity cost is the combination of money and time costs and refers to the potential missed opportunities as a result of being engaged in a particular activity you’re already investing your money and time into.

I suggest prioritizing time over money and being willing to spend more money if it saves time. You can then use that reclaimed time to generate more money, which leads to greater returns in the long run.

In doing so, you’ll be keeping a close eye on the ever-important opportunity cost.

VIDEO I ENJOYED THIS WEEK

Watch this if you're tired of being broke

The language in the thumbnail is strong, perhaps offensive to some. But if you can get past that, the message in the video is GOLD. Interestingly, this week, I got a message from a fan asking the same thing Alex was asked in this video. The fan basically asked for advice because he was tired of being broke and was also strapped for time. Coincidentally, at almost the same moment, this video popped up on my YT recommendations. This video very clearly encapsulates pretty much everything I would have said to this fan, so I just shared the video with him. Now I'm sharing it with you because I think it's that good.Watch by clicking the image.

SONG I ENJOYED THIS WEEK

Jhene Aiko x The Weeknd x Frank Ocean - Runaway (A JAYBeatz Mashup)

I discovered this song about 10 YEARS AGO! It's not even an official release. It's a mashup/remix a producer made combining bits of songs from these 3 artists. Almost every year, over the past decade, a week comes  around where I return to this song because it is in my estimation timeless. This was that week in 2023.Listen now by clicking the image.

BOOK/ARTICLE I ENJOYED THIS WEEK

Harvard-trained neuroscientist: The ‘most underrated’ skill successful people use at work—and how to develop it

Oh I loved this article. Anyone who knows me in real life will tell you how frequently I reference the importance of "self-awareness". This article cites "self-awareness" as the most underrated skill successful people use at work. It further explains what self-awareness is, in a new light that I hadn't considered before, as well as how to implement it. It's definitely worth the read.Enjoy the article by simply clicking the image.

That's it for this week.Love you,ShopéP.S. Have you watched my latest YT video Why Christian music fails: Exposing the Dark Side of the Christian Music Industry

SOCIALS

Follow me on your favourite platform. Hint: I'm most active on YT & Tik Tok 

Reply

or to participate.