New Music Date + The Power of Asking

🚨NEW MUSIC DATE + The Power of Asking

 

Hey, hope you're well. IT'S OFFICIAL! Mark your calendars!My next song "Ten (Mewa)" drops on NOVEMBER 15.I'll be revealing more about it (Coverart, Lyrics, Inspiration, etc) in the coming weeks, but for now pre-save all my future releases HERE. You'll only ever had to do this once.Here's your digest for this week. Hope you find these, inspiring and encouraging.

THOUGHT OF THE WEEK

The Power of Asking(approximately 3 min read)When I was about to launch my email marketing business, I set out to learn as much as I could about marketing and sales (still learning by the way).In all of the videos I watched and articles I read, perhaps the most useful one I came across was by a guy name Alex Hormozi.He simplified what seemed like such a vast and complex topic - marketing.Of course, no matter what you’re “selling” there are a million things that can be done to try to generate interest and ultimately sales.By the way, don’t let the word “selling” throw you off. Everyone is selling something, even job seekers are trying to sell themselves to companies.At any rate, one profound lesson I learn is that marketing really only breaks down into 4 main categories; 1-to-1 Warm, 1-to-Many Warm, 1-to-1 Cold, 1-to-many ColdThink of it as a grid.

Warm Audience are those who know you and have given you permission to contact them.Cold Audiences are those who don’t know you and haven’t yet given you permission to contact them.Without losing you in the details, here’s a profound lesson: start with 1-to-1 Warm (Warm Outreach).So these are the people you know personally (friends, family, group chats, etc.), and offer them something of value connected to your business/goals.Why am I telling you this?Because for most people (myself included), this is TERRIFYING!Whether it’s fear of looking weak and vulnerable or the fear of failing publicly, or maybe just wanting to look like we have it all together, many of us would like to skip this step altogether and go straight to colder connections.It’s easier to go to people with whom we have no real connections. After all, even if they say no, we likely won’t have to ever see or speak to them again.If it’s a job, those are job boards, if it’s a business that could be ads, content or cold emails.While these other strategies are part of the process, it’s best to start with those closest to you because the foundation of any transaction is TRUST!And you have built the most trust with those closest to you.They are most likely to give you a shot or recommend you to someone else, purely based off your history.So that’s what I did.I swallowed my pride and started painstakingly messaging friends one by one, catching up and filling them in on this new project I was working on.Here’s what happened!It sucked at first! Well, technically, I sucked! 😅But the more I did it, the better I’ve gotten at starting, holding and steering conversations.Some conversations don’t even end up in business, but it’s still great to catch up with friends.It was through this process that I reconnected with an old music friend who like me, was now also involved in the digital marketing space.We connected in person and learned that our stories were so similar.Through that one connection, a MULTITUDE of new opportunities and business leads have emerged.Had I succumbed to my fear of not asking my personal network, chances are the business wouldn’t be doing what it is today.This is a simple example of the power of asking.So if you’re searching for something, provide value to those around you first, then ask for help.There’s more to be said on this topic, but I’ll close it there for now.

VIDEO I ENJOYED THIS WEEK

How Rappers Fake their Streams

SHOCKER! Can you hear my inherent sarcasm? Not sure if this is a surprise to you or not, but being in the industry as long as I have, I can unequivocally confirm this to be true. And it's not just rap music, it's all music. A lot of fake streams, fake followers, fake images, all in the interest of simulating success in hopes of it becoming real success. It's a slimy game. Enjoy this video of just how blatant it has become.Watch by clicking the image.

SONG I ENJOYED THIS WEEK

Naomi Sharon - If This Is Love

Naomi just dropped her album "Obsidian" and it's giving Sade Adu. Now if you know anything about me, it's that Sade can do no wrong in my mind (you know what I mean). This song is probably my fav so far on the album. If you love Sade type music, you'll love this.Listen now by clicking the image.

That's it for this week.Love you,ShopéP.S. Don't forget "Ten (Mewa)" drops NOVEMBER 15! Pre-save all my future releases HERE. You'll only ever had to do this once.P.P.S. Don't forget to my latest YT video Christians get THIS wrong about money

SOCIALS

Follow me on your favourite platform. Hint: I'm most active on YT & Tik Tok 

Reply

or to participate.