• The Artist CEO
  • Posts
  • When progress feels sloooowww (Plant, Cultivate, Harvest)

When progress feels sloooowww (Plant, Cultivate, Harvest)

When progress feels sloooowww 😩

 

Hey, hope you're well. I've decided to scrap the "Article/Book of the Week" section because based on your clicks (or lack thereof), it seems to be providing the least value. Plus I want to focus more on fleshing out my thought of the week. They'll still be digestible, but as you've noticed over the last few weeks, they've been longer than a few lines. If you're enjoying the longer form, reply to this email with "More thoughts".Of course if I come across a helpful article/book, I'll be sure to share. If you want the section back as a newsletter staple, you can also respond, "More articles".Anyways, here's your digest for this week. Hope you find these, inspiring and encouraging.

THOUGHT OF THE WEEK

That’s a thread I put up earlier this week. I thought it’d be good to expand on this a little further.This is a universal truth that's as real for you as it is for my journey in music and entrepreneurship."Plant. Cultivate. Harvest. Repeat."It’s really that simple.Just like I've poured heart and soul into my music and businesses, you're on a path of building a life for yourself…hopefully the kind of life that you want. If it isn’t, don’t give up, as long as you draw breath, God’s grace is new every morning.Let’s take this one step at a time;Plant 🌱

The uncomfortable start of the process.For me, this might look like the steps in making a song; Listening to different beats, playing with melody ideas, babbling random lyrics and sounds as I try to arrive at something comprehensible or at least an emotionally resonant idea.Or for my clothing brand, Culture Rich World, it might mean giving away free items to new customers so as to seed in their mind the quality they can expect from the brand.Or for my other digital (email) marketing business, Building Block Digital, it might mean reaching out to a lead who I think could benefit from the service my company offers. Or simply diving deeper into the world of digital marketing, learning new skills I can use to better serve my existing clients.What does planting look like for you?Taking that course to build your skills, working on your resume, reaching out to that contactWhatever it is, plant something today that will set the foundation for your incoming harvest.Cultivate 💧

Caring for the seeds.Back to the song, this is me returning to that idea and working more on it, perhaps at a  later date. Maybe I even send it to some friends to give me ideas.With the brand, it’s following up with those new customers to see how they felt about the free item they received. Collecting feedback on how their experience was.With the marketing business, it’s similarly following up on leads, being ready to answer any questions/objections they have. Maybe even doing some free work for them.When cultivating, you’re caring for the things you’ve started.You don’t start, then abandon. You nurture them.What does cultivating look like for you?Finishing that course, following up with that employer/supervisor/boss?Whatever it is, cultivate your seeds today that will set the foundation for your incoming harvest.Harvest 🌺

The fun part.When that song is complete, and out in the world that’s my harvest. Even more satisfying is hearing from fans like you how that song impacted them.When that customer who got the free item, decides to purchase something else from the store.When that lead decides to hire my company to help with their email marketing.The harvest is the sweet culmination of the preceding 2 stages.You know what a harvest will look like for you.In your journey, every goal you not just set, but begin working towards, that's 'Planting.'Every subsequent move you make, or lesson you learn – that's 'Cultivating.'The 'Harvest' comes when you see positive changes in life._____Now here’s the tough reality….most don’t even begin planting, and here’s why.Planting is the most difficult, because most people fear the inevitable failures that will come.Not all seeds planted will yield a harvest.But you don’t need all to - you just need a couple.Even the Bible uses the metaphor of a sower (Matthew 13), to communicate the truth that not all seeds planted will flourish. But an application is nonetheless clear - plant.Remember, these stages are progressive and hence the reason no one is ONLY, EVER, ALWAYS winning. It cycles.Also remember building the life that you want doesn't happen accidentally or overnight.It takes intentionality, long-term thinking and execution.Embrace the journey, be patient, and trust the process.We’re all growing together.Plant and cultivate today.Then share with me your stories of your 'Harvest.'I’d love to hear them.

VIDEO I ENJOYED THIS WEEK

If You Feel Lost - Watch This (How To Find Your Purpose)

This might be my most important video to date. I just released it this week, and it answers some questions my fans have been asking; Is Shopé still actively making music? What's Shopé up to?. But more than that, I believe it'll really help you clarify your own vision for your life's work (aka your Purpose).Watch by clicking the image.

SONG I ENJOYED THIS WEEK

KANTE (feat. Fave) - Davido

Been vibing to this the last few months actually. Easily one of the best songs off the Afrobeat legend's latest albums.Listen now by clicking the image.

That's it for this week.Love you,ShopéP.S. Don't forget to my latest YT video If You Feel Lost - Watch This (How To Find Your Purpose)

SOCIALS

Follow me on your favourite platform. Hint: I'm most active on YT & Tik Tok 

Reply

or to participate.