Religious Scandal, AfroR&B, Billionaire Wisdom

Religious Scandal, AfroR&B, Billionaire Wisdom

 

Hey, the sun has been SHINING here in Toronto and I'm here for EVERY SQUARE INCH of it!!! ☀️ Can you tell I've been waiting for this!Here's your digest for this week. Hope you find these, inspiring and encouraging.

THOUGHT OF THE WEEK

Statements like "I'll do it myself" "I'll figure it out" sound noble, and in many ways, they are. Trust me, I'm all for being pro-active and being a self-starter. But I'm also learning the power of mentorship. Believe it or not, you're losing time and money trying to figure it all out on your own. Cut down your ignorance tax and find a mentor!

SONG I ENJOYED THIS WEEK

Night In Maryland - Nonso Amadi

Nonso Amadi and I are similar. Born and raised in Nigeria, living in Canada, blending sounds and culture. Who doesn't love a mix of Afrobeats and R&B. He just dropped his album "When It Blooms" and as far as I'm concerned, "Night In Maryland" is a standout cut for me.

VIDEO I ENJOYED THIS WEEK

The Secrets of Hillsong

About 2 years ago, you probably heard about the major fall from grace, Carl Lentz (former Lead Pastor of Hillsong NYC) suffered. Well, it turns out that fall from grace was only a symptom of a much larger and systemic problem in the overall Hillsong Corporation (and I use the word "corporation" intentionally). Oh boy, this doc is a DOOZY!I don't necessarily align with every single thing outlined in this documentary (especially as it relates to editorial perspectives on the Christian faith), but I must say I overall like the tone and approach of this doc. It's a cautionary tale of what happens when the thirst for power and money supplant the true intent of Christianity. Sad, eye-opening, enlightening.

BOOK/ARTICLE I ENJOYED THIS WEEK

Ask Richard: What are the most useful skills to learn as an entrepreneur?

If you don't know who Richard Branson is, you've probably been cryogenically frozen since the 60s. He's a world renowned billionaire and business magnate. During the 70s when he was in his 20s, he started his entrepreneurial journey and now his company, Virgin Group controls about 400 companies across different industries.Anyways I'm signed up to his monthly LinkedIN Newsletter where he answers questions sent in by his community. This month he answers the question, "What are the most useful skills to learn as an entrepreneur?" If you have any hope of starting a business or even excelling at your job, I IMPLORE you to please read it. Read HERE.It's so good and actionable. I also found it quite encouraging because I am implementing most of things he suggests including; Listening, Taking Calculated Risks, Delegating/Collaborating and Learning & Adopting new skills.

That's it for this week.Love you,ShopéP.S. This video has been blowing up on YT this week. Got like 40K views in a few days. Watch if you haven't!  Why I Left the Christian Music Industry? 

SOCIALS

Follow me on your favourite platform. Hint: I'm most active on YT & Tik Tok 

Reply

or to participate.