[Re-sent] Week #42 (Oct.15-21, 2018)

Will You Hold Me Accountable?! ๐Ÿ™๐Ÿฟ

 

Week #42 (Oct. 15-21, 2018) - WILL YOU HOLD ME ACCOUNTABLE?!

As always, hope you've been having a good and productive week.  Today is sort of a continuation of last week's post about discipline, particularly as it applies to my sleep habits. I figure I let you know how well I've been practising what I preach. Sooooooooo....the past week started really well, then not so much, then back to being good. I believe the first night after last week's post I went to bed at like 11:30PM and woke up at 6:30AM. The night after was more like 2AM sleep with an 8:30AM wake up. The subsequent nights however, had be going to bed between 12-12:30AM and waking up between 7-7:30AM.So while not a perfect week, I did make some progress considering that 8:30AM (sometimes 9) has been characteristic in the past. My goal is to consistently wake up at 6AM, maybe even 5AM. But I'm taking it one step at a time. I plan to achieve regularity at my current 7AM mark, after which I'll progress to 6:30 AM and so on.Why am I going into such detail? I'm doing it not only to encourage you but also to be plainly accountable, which is what I want to touch on today. I think most people would agree that accountability is indespensible when trying to achieve a goal, however I don't know how many people actually know what real accountability is. Let me paint a picture;Jane wants to stop (insert your bad habit of choice), so she enlists Susan to be her accountability buddy. Jane is making advances towards her goal, however slips up in a moment of weakness. Naturally she feels bad, but takes comfort in the fact that Susan will check in on her, at which point they'll talk about what happened and discuss strategies to prevent the same mistake. However, the next few weeks are pretty busy for both girls, so when they do finally speak, the event has either slipped from Jane's memory or she feels it happened so long ago, it's no longer important to bring it up to Susan. This cycle repeats itself a few times, and before long, it's much easier for Jane to let things slide, and at best, maintain a superficial accountability relationship with Susan, or at worst, avoid her altogether.Does this scenario sound familiar? To me it does, because to be honest, I have been Jane in the past, and it's still so easy to fall into that pattern.So what exactly is wrong with Jane's approach to accountability? Jane waited for Susan to contact her.Accountability isn't something you receive, it's something you do. True accountability isn't waiting (or even wanting) to be held accountable, but being accountable.It means YOU initiate not only the initial connection, but the ongoing relationship. Of course it's great to have an active buddy who will check in on you, but you cannot depend on that alone. You must be the one to make the call or reach out, especially if you suffered a moment of weakness. For any real accountability relationship to work, you must see the burden of confessing failures (and successes) as resting on your shoulders. That is true accountability. Will it be easy? Absolutely not! But it will so help to shape your character, not to mention actually help you overcome your temptations in the long run.So much more can be said about accountability, but I'll stop there for today.Until next week, #KnowItsRealI just released a new vlog and some new music, so see below for those and more of my content I'm sure you'll be interested in.

P.S. If you're enjoying these weekly stories/lessons why not forward this email to a friend or family member.

NEW VLOG

Touring as an independent artist isnโ€™t easy, but itโ€™s so worth it. There is no substitute for the process, so you gotta surround yourself with the best people, take risks and learn your lessons along the way. The "Days To Love Tour" was just what I needed to get out of my comfort zone and grow not just as an artist, but as a businessman. Thanks to everyone who came out, making it a great experience.

NEW MUSIC: XXY (Remixes)

The official remix project to the original "XXY". This project features 6 remixes including 2 of the uber popular "Stay" with production from UK powerhouses, HXLY KXSS, and WYLD, and US-based Quinten Coblentz. The same songs you already know and love, re-imaginged!

YOUTUBE

Officially launched my Youtube channel. Previously I've used the label's, but it's a new day. Here you'll be able to listen to all my music and watch docs, behind-the-scenes, etc. So do me a solid by subscribing.

MORE MUSIC: XXY (The Original)

Half a million streams and counting. Check out the original XXY project that tackles themes of love, romance, heartbreak, marriage and the like. Enjoy!

UPCOMING CONCERTS

Catch me in your city. Click the photo

Reply

or to participate.