When the "right" words are wrong

When the "right" words are wrong

 

Hey, hope you're well.Here's your digest for this week. Hope you find these, inspiring and encouraging.

THOUGHT OF THE WEEK

When the "right" words are wrong(approximately 1 min read)The right words at the wrong time, or in the wrong way, can be the wrong words.I was having a conversation with my brother this week (he’s one of my mentors).While sharing with him some recent frustrations I was having with some people, he kindly reminded me that whoever was “right” or “wrong” in this situation (it’s rarely ever one-sided), I was to be very mindful of how I communicated.Even in the matters where difficult truths must be shared and accountability must be brought to bear, there is a time and place for everything.That reminded me of Proverbs 25:11-12, which says “A word fitly spoken is like apples of gold in pictures of silver. As an earring of gold, and an ornament of fine gold, so is a wise reprover upon an obedient ear.”Think about that; it’s saying reproof (correction) can be to someone what a gold earring is to the ear. There is a way to deliver even difficult truths, that still make it manageable (even appreciated) for the listener.I’m thankful for this reminder this week, and hope it helps you as well.Before you speak next (especially if it’s a difficult conversation), ask yourself 2 questions;

  • Is this the time to say it?

  • Is this the way to say it?

P.S. New song coming this month

SONG I ENJOYED THIS WEEK

Russ - Said It Freestyle(Same as last week)You don't have to like Russ to recognize he's special. I love when he gets introspective and motivational. This was especially helpful this week as I was thinking about the coming year.Listen now by clicking below or the image.

VIDEO I ENJOYED THIS WEEK

Trillion Dollar Coach

Not so much a video as it is an audiobook. Started listening this week. It chronicles the impact of Bill Campbell, a coach and mentor to some of the most influential people in the world. From Steve Jobs to many others, Bill was the quiet person in the corner to whom they would run for wisdom. This book is teaching me how to be a better leader.Watch by clicking the image.

That's it for this week.Love you,ShopéP.P.S. Have you heard my latest song Ten (Mewa) and watched my latest YT video, 10 Surprising Habits that changed my life?

SOCIALS

Follow me on your favourite platform. Hint: I'm most active on YT & Tik Tok 

Reply

or to participate.