RIKIKI PRE-SAVE/ADD + Meaning

So what does RIKIKI mean? 🤔

 

So what does RIKIKI mean?!

First off let me say thank you for supporting "Pepper Dem" since its release last Friday! If you haven't streamed, shame on you...kidding...but go stream it now 😛. At any rate, I mentioned the song is off my forthcoming EP, RIKIKI dropping on October 2.So what does RIKIKI mean? To be honest, nothing really. The name came about during a writing session where the beat was so infectious, we just mumbled words, and "Rikiki" came out. It sounded and felt so good that we didn't want to change it, so we gave the word meaning. That song went on to be the title track of the EP. The song itself is one of abounding confidence, and so it speaks excellently to the project as a whole. In a previous newsletter, I mentioned that the last 2 years have been very eventful. The truth is, the journey to where I am now, has been longer than 2 years. By God's grace, I've embraced my Nigerian-Canadian heritage in determining both my personal and musical identity (a 7+ year journey). I've embraced moving into the mainstream music space. And of course, my Christian faith remains my foundation as it helps me navigate the waters I'm in. While not perfect, I'm very comfortable with who I am and can attest to the liberation that comes from that."Rikiki" speaks to that confidence. The word is meant to communicate confidence, courage, boldness...living within your convictions and being confident to be you. Of course living fully in your convictions means accepting everything that comes with that. The support, the backlash, the growing pains and the consequences of our decisions. Of course that means, we've gotta make sure we have healthy convictions. But that's a conversion for another day. Even as a Christian, I desire for non-Christians to be themselves because the gospel is not about acting a certain way. It's a heart change and while I might desire that for them, if that heart change hasn't taken place, I can't demand they pretend. I can simply love, pray, speak and live my convictions.So yea, all that is wrapped up in the EP conceptually and sonically. I'm super proud of it, and very excited for you to hear RIKIKI. Be sure to Pre-Save RIKIKI today. The EP drops on October 2 but when you PRE-SAVE/ADD it now, you'll instantly get Pepper Dem as well.With all that said, see below for the RIKIKI tracklist. Appreciate you!Even LOTS MORE COMING, so stay connected! In case you forgot;STREAM PEPPER DEM NOW!PRE SAVE/ADD RIKIKI! 

MORE GREAT CONTENT

SOCIALS

Follow me on your favourite platform. Hint: I'm most active on Instagram 

Reply

or to participate.