Surgeries, Songs, Surprises (Tokyo Olympics 2020)

I was hospitalized + unexpected news!

 

🔔 SURGERIES, SONGS, SURPRISES  🔔

If you follow me on IG, then you already know that the past week was sorta rough. I had a second knee surgery that had the surgeon complete what I hope will be the last procedure needed to get my knee back to full working condition (or as close to full as possible). The full story surrounding how I got this injury in the first place, will be the subject of a later Youtube video, however, suffice to say now that my NBA dreams are officially dead & buried 😂.Recovering after destroying 3 out of the 4 major ligaments in your knee isn't exactly a walk in the park (see what I did there?). At any rate, the surgery went well, followed by a pretty difficult first week post-op. Severe pain, nausea, dizziness, fatigue, mental fog, and inability to sleep all followed. Not to mention, watching my wife do everything she can to keep it together, while taking on managing our household and practically doing everything for me.....she's a true ride or die, and I couldn't be more grateful for her. Thankfully, while there is still pain (and will likely remain for a while), my mental clarity is returning, being able to muscle through small amounts of work.It was during one of these short bursts that I got some incredible news. One of my unreleased songs will be used as part of Canada's Tokyo 2020 Olympic coverage. This is my  first ever sync deal, and it's pretty MASSIVE! "RISING" will be the official soundtrack to Andre De Grasse (one of Canada's top athletes), in  his quest for gold in one of the most watched events at the olympics, the 100m sprint!The sweat and heartache that goes into being an independent artist, makes the wins that much sweeter. No major backing, no big teams, just pure heart and raw dedication from a select few! GRATEFUL doesn't even begin to cover it! MY SONG WILL BE USED FOR THE OLYMPICS 🤯.  As a result, "RISING" drops Friday, July 30, and airs on CBC (TV & online) during the 100m sprint on July 31. "RISING" is a unique cinematic experience, unlike anything else I've done, and I can't wait for you to hear it! Please PRE-SAVE the song. Not only will you not miss the drop, this little action helps a ton and shows the Spotify algorithm, there's interest in the song, thus exposing it to more people.Well, that's all for now. Some really good news during what is otherwise a challenging time. But isn't that so much of how life is?I will be on crutches for the next several weeks, with close to a year of active physio ahead. If you so feel inclined, please do pray for my wife and our family. Peace!-Shopé

MORE GREAT CONTENT

SOCIALS

Follow me on your favourite platform. Hint: I'm most active on Instagram 

Reply

or to participate.