Week #08 (Feb.18-24, 2019)

NEW FEBRUARY MUSIC + HUUGGEE NEWS!!! 🙌🏿

 

Week #08 (Jan.18-24, 2019) - NEW FEBRUARY MUSIC + Lyric Breakdown!

Today is a great day for two reasons. First, it's New Music Friday and second, I have an update about the national CBC #Searchlight2019 competition I entered into. See below for details about both.My second song of 2019 officially just dropped. AWAY" is what happens when Dance music and Afrofusion crossbreed. Seattle-based DJ em-D (Dance Music) and I (Afrofusion), first connected in 2018 at an event and with our mutual love for blending sounds, this song was the inevitable result. Based on the story of the prodigal son, "AWAY" is a triumphant reminder to all of us that no one is ever too far AWAY to come back home. Also, we often have to tell the thief of our joy (Satan) to just go AWAY. Enjoy both English and a little bit of my native Nigerian language, Yoruba in the song.Check out the lyrics [with some breakdown], as you listen along.Verse 1This morning had a special kinda fall tone,You know kinda weather make you wanna call home,(Re)trace your steps to a time you wasn’t long gone,Young, immature, dumb you was so prone,To do on your own, now you all alone,But remember Daddy said He’d be right at the phone,Matter fact just say the word, He be right there along,Then leave the past in the past like you did nothing wrong//But let’s face it,It’s been a long while,I ain’t even sure He’ll recognize His child,//He probably found another,Wait, do that mean I got a sis or brother,It don’t matter,//Well, they probably so much easier to love,Who I’m kidding I ain’t making the call,Still I just feel He might come through just like He saidI don’t know to do with these thoughts in my headPre ChorusOh my those lies, Keep attacking my mind [the lies that God won't recognize his long lost child]Oh my those lies,Keep attacking my mind [the lies that God's love is only for those "easy to love"]Oh myKeep attacking my mind Those lies Keep attacking my mindHookOh No No No, Ole Le Le, Go Away! ["Ole" is a Yoruba word which means "Thief" referencing, "the thief comes only to steal, kill and destroy" -John 10:10]AWAY!(repeat)Verse 2If I counted the times, (that) we was aligned,Off the work that I did, it’s harder to find, [our attitudes/actions rarely align with God's will]Like I’m working a bid, you suffered for mine,And you did it all as one of a kind,Whatever kind,Ring ring, yea you dialling ‘em all,Every tongue and every colour yea you died for them all// [thankfully, God's acceptance of us is not based on our performance, but on Jesus' perfect work]Like a diamond in the rough, [what is the precious diamond? what is the rough?]You was coming for us, [the rough is the sinful world (us) and the diamond was Jesus coming to dwell among us to save us]And we acting like it wasn’t enough//But wasn’t it love//Pre-ChorusHook

~ ~ ~

Hope you enjoy the song. Until next week, #KnowItsRealP.S. What do you think of the song? I'd love to hear your feedback.

CRAZY NEWS!!!!!!

CRAZY!!! Out of thousands I advanced to the next round of Top 100 artists in CBC Music #Searchlight2019 competition. This is HUGE! You guys helped me get here, so please help me for one more stretch. The next stage will be a great purge from Top 100 to the Top 10 and I BELIEVE we can get there.

. Vote now. Vote once/day. Vote on multiple devices. Just vote for the boy. Thanks in advance! 🙏🏿

1.) Go to link2.) Type "Shope" in search bar3.) Click "VOTE"Total Time: 10 seconds or less!

It's that's simple!

SOCIALS

Follow me on your favourite platform. Hint: I'm most active on Instagram 

Reply

or to participate.