Week #09 (Feb.25-Mar.3, 2019)

5 YEARS MARRIED + MORE BIG NEWS!!! 🙌🏿

 

Week #09 (Jan.25-mar.3, 2019) - 5 YEARS MARRIED!

Today, March 1, 2019 officially marks 5 years of marriage. On my wedding day, I remember someone saying to me “WOW! I can’t believe I’ve already been married 5 years. Time flies!” Now on the other side of that statement, it rings true. The last 5 years have been incredible. If I can summarize my wife’s character in one word, “Peacemaker” immediately comes to mind. Marjolaine is a peacemaker. She desires and pursues relational intimacy, often sacrificing her own comfort for it. This by no means makes her weak. On the contrary it makes her incredibly strong. She’s courageous enough to put away her personal preferences for the greater good and the pursuit of serving others. This is a quality that has continued to blossom over the years. Her servant-heartedness was her primary quality that drew me to her just over 6 years ago, and it’s amazing to see that character trait continue to blossom into other traits like peacemaking. Seeing her so willing to forgo of her preferences challenges me to grow in that area also.To those who have been married for decades, 5 years isn’t a long period of time. While that is true, in our 5 years we have witnessed no less than 5 friends of ours either separate or altogether get divorced. We started the journey of marriage at roughly the same time, and a few years later, some are no longer in the game. That’s not to say we’re no longer friends, nor am I speaking down on them or placing blame. Divorce is messy and no one goes into marriage expecting to get divorced. I’m just saying what is. The scariest part is the longer I’m married, the more I see how easy it is for a once happy marriage to end in divorce. It’s very easy to lose heart or to stop trying.  Once that initial spark fades and the realities of entrenching your sinful life with another’s settles in, it’s very easy to slowly drift apart, only to end up no longer recognizing yourself, much less your spouse. For this reason, I cherish these last 5 years and give maximum credit first to God for his sustaining grace, and second to Marjolaine. In these 5 years she has also become the mother of my son, and soon to be born daughter. As if she wasn’t already amazing I’ve seen her grow even more in her love and service of our family. Even more, Marjolaine truly cares for the hearts of others outside of our immediate family. She never lets the busyness of our lives blind her to the needs of others. She loves to give gifts. She even reminds me to call my parents and other loved ones when I get very busy.In her hunt for radical relational intimacy Marjolaine studies me, learns me, loves me. She is gentle, she is loving, she is godly, she is mine, and I am hers.I have a song coming out later this year that says, “There’s nothing out there for me,You are my guarantee,Baba God dey answer prayerGive me things I don’t deserveEvery time I sit and stare,Can’t believe that you are here”She is truly God’s gift to me. She loves me enough to serve and challenge me to grow. She make me better in every way. There’s so much more I could say about her, but I’ll save those for her ears directly. Happy 5 years to us. The Lord keeping us, here’s to another 50 🎉🍾🥂 Until next week, #KnowItsRealP.S. Are you married? If so, how long? If you've been married for 10+ years, give me some advice. If you're not married, do you desire it?

CRAZY NEWS!!!!!!

CRAZY!!! Out of thousands I'm in the final round of Top 10 artists in CBC Music #Searchlight2019 competition. This is FREAKING HUGE! You guys helped me get here, so thanks for all your votes! There's nothing left for you to do, except pray that the judges select me as the final winner. 🙏🏿

SOCIALS

Follow me on your favourite platform. Hint: I'm most active on Instagram 

Reply

or to participate.