Week #13 (Mar.25-31, 2019)

Perseverance will WIN + NEW VLOG! 🏃🏾

 

Week #13 (Mar.25-31, 2019) - Perseverance will WIN! + NEW VLOG!

I came across a post earlier this week that said, "You can be grinding for 4 years with no results, then on the 5th year become the biggest thing on the planet. The power of never giving up is real". Instinctively, my first thought was "Try grinding for 10". Because that's roughly where I'm sitting at now. Literally 10 years ago in 2009, I decided to switch routes from pursing a medical career to pursing a music one instead. The path has been filled with copious amounts of self-doubt, bouts of anxiety and loads of fear. Fear of failing, fear of other people's opinions about my decision to go after such an unconventional and unstable career, fear of years later looking back to find that I've wasted the precious years of my youth chasing a dream that never panned out. But still I persevered because the compulsion to tell musical stories that stir the soul had infected me like a virus. It was in my heart, in my head, in my blood and I could do nothing else but TRY. I was (still am) prepared to try and fail than to live with a "What if?" That being said, it's been 10 years of putting out content hoping that each new piece would reach more people than the last. Then Searchlight happened.Now I'm not one to celebrate too much or too early. I don't want to "jinx" things. Well maybe "jinx" isn't the right expression. I just know that God gives and takes as He pleases and it's ultimately for our good. So when good things happen, I'm thankful but don't get overly excited, then I move on to the next goal. That being said, the Searchlight win has afforded me many new open doors. My 10 years of sowing is beginning to reap. It's still early on to know what it'll all mean in the long run, but I feel positive because I'm now moving in new circles, circles I've wanted to move in for some time. So I'm cautiously optimistic.One of the recent perks I enjoyed was being a part of The JUNO Awards. For those who don't know, this is the equivalent of the GRAMMY's in Canada. The JUNO's is the pinnacle of the Canadian music industry. This year I was invited to participate in a private event called the JUNO Express Train, where I performed (on a moving train 😝) alongside other national and international recording artists (some nominees) as well as schmooze with industry and media heads. It was a humbling experience and my team and I documented the whole thing for your viewing pleasure.So the post about not giving up that I came across this week rang especially true given everything going on around me now. I've been working diligently for 10 years then BOOM! So as you watch the video, let this be an encouragement to you. Even if it hasn't happened yet, that doesn't mean it never will. KEEP PUSHING!Until next week, #KnowItsRealP.S. How long have you been honestly pushing at your dream/goal?P.P.S. Please don't forget to Subscribe to my Youtube page (and turn on notifications), as I'll be releasing more videos in the coming weeks & months.

MORE GREAT CONTENT

SOCIALS

Follow me on your favourite platform. Hint: I'm most active on Instagram 

Reply

or to participate.