Week #22 (May 27 - June 2, 2019)

God's Plan = God's Time! + NEW Lyric Video 😬

 

 Week #22 (May 27 - June 2, 2019) - People. Places. Platforms. GOD! 

When you set out to accomplish something, the process is the most challenging part because you never know how it’s going to turn out. Your hunch that things will work out the way you want could be correct. Or it could also go the other way, only for you to find out years later that it just wasn’t in the stars for you…or should I say, God had something different planned for you.The start is exciting, full of vigour, excitement and frankly naivety. The end is ever-elusive. I don’t think there’s an actual end. The in-between is tough. Having been working at music for about a decade now, I remember so often lamenting the speed (or lack thereof) at which things were moving. Early on in my career (even as early as 3 years ago) there were certain social circles I desperately wanted to be accepted into. I actually remember thinking thoughts like “If I could only get that person to like me!” There were conferences I HAD TO perform/speak at, without which I didn’t view my artistic offerings as valuable. Like, “If they don’t support my art, is it really good?” Then from the outside looking in, I observed others (some of them friends) seems to scale those heights in no time at all. They had their teams, co-signs, and social clout. But alas, no matter how hard I tried, I was never fully welcomed into those circles, nor invited to speak/perform at those conferences. I never ascended the ranks. And you know what? I couldn’t be happier!What follows isn’t a “HAHAHA! Sucks to be you. I hope you fail” kinda rant. But it is a sobering observation.Today, things aren’t looking so bright for some of those people, places and platforms I once anchored my value to. Some have altogether fallen apart, others have lost relevance (and continue to do so), and some are wrestling through conflicts of the soul. Worse yet, there are other who have altogether changed, abandoning their former principles.These were the people, places and platforms I had elevated to God-status. What would have happened to me had I gotten in? There’s no way to know the answer to that question. What I do know however, is had I excelled in those circles as I wanted, I would not be in the position I currently am, where all things going according to plan, will result in a far greater reach than I had ever imagined.You see how God works things out in His own special way and timing?All of this isn’t to say the space in which I’m currently operating isn’t susceptible to the same trap of coveting people, places and platforms. It absolutely is! Maybe even more so. What’s interesting now however, is while I do have desires for certain collaborations and partnerships, I don’t anchor my success, much less my identity to any one of them. If I get to work with that person, GREAT! If not, that’s OK. He/She is not God and doesn’t fully determine my trajectory. If I get to play that festival, AWESOME! If I don’t, that’s OK too. That festival organizer/booker is not God and doesn’t fully determine my trajectory. If I win that award, INCREDIBLE! If I don’t, even that is OK. That award committee is not God and doesn’t fully determine my trajectory. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not saying maintaining this kind of thinking is easy now. I’m just more aware of how my past systems of thinking were fundamentally flawed. So now that I’m aware, I fight to think clearer and to do better. Furthermore, I strive to trust God’s timing because I am in living colour, seeing the beauty of His timing. I knew what I wanted. He knew what I needed.All that to say, God knows best. God’s timing is best. As it stands, I don’t know what the future holds. I may rise to become an internationally known household name. Or I might remain where I currently am.When all is said and done though, I take comfort in this; whatever God chooses will be the very best thing I need. Any other alternate realities I might imagine, would fail to supply my best good. God knowing everything about everything, including how the intricacies of the innermost workings of my heart, habits, desires, life, patterns, family etc. interacts with the trillions of trillions of other factors and principles governing the cosmos and every single detail of every single soul therein, is really the only one in the best vantage point to determine which 1 out of the 14,000,000 possibilities I could imagine, will yield my greatest good, not to mention His greatest glory.Until next week, #KnowItsRealP.S. Check out the BRAND NEW Lyric Video for "When You Land" which is featured on Youtube/VEVO's Official Fresh Music Friday Playlist. ENJOY!P.P.S. Don't forget to Subscribe to my Youtube page (and turn on notifications).

MORE GREAT CONTENT

SOCIALS

Follow me on your favourite platform. Hint: I'm most active on Instagram 

Reply

or to participate.