Week #23 (June 3-9, 2019)

On Turning 30...Reflections!

 

Week #23 (June 3-9, 2019) - 30 Years Blessed!

If you follow me on Instagram you know by now, but for those who don't, I celebrated my 30th birthday this past Tuesday. The celebration actually started on Saturday when my wife successfully pulled off a surprise party. The party was the time with friends and extended family, while the actual day was spent resting with my immediate family. On the day of, I debated posting my actual age because I’m officially 30 now and that has a certain stigma around it, especially in the music industry. There are certain things I hoped to have accomplished at this point in my life. Some I have, others are “in progress”.  But over the last few days, I’ve been surrounded by so much love and encouragement that I was reminded of 2 things;1.) The supposed negative stigma about my turning 30 was just a projection of my own internal insecurities. More than a few people reminded me that I make songs they connect with personally, and give no thought whatsoever to my age. And as long as I keep doing that, age doesn't really matter. Someone reminded me that on one end of the spectrum, you've got teeny bopper musicians who although have a massive following, are ultimately in a precarious position because the connection with their fans isn't really rooted in real life experiences that stand the test of time. Consequently, these types of artists fizzle out as quickly as they rise. On the other end of the spectrum, you've got artists like The Rolling Stones, U2, Sting, Jay Z etc, who although are further along in age, have a deep connection to their fans because their connection is rooted in the complex experiences of everyday human life. Those are lifelong supporters. When all is said and done, that's the kind of support I want to build. Even if it takes longer.2.) What truly matters is this; God is the one who writes the story and mine is looking pretty spectacular so far. I’ve got an incredible wife, 2 healthy kids, a loving extended family and a network of supportive friends. MAJOR kudos to my amazing wife for pulling off this surprise party ON TOP of everything else’s she’s already managing. Career-wise, God has given me what was best for me at different times, and currently, things have never been better and the future never looked brighter. I gave my 20s to rap. The last decade was the sowing. Now we reap.........😎 Until next week, #KnowItsRealP.S. I mentioned last week that there was a new lyric video for "When You Land". You might have checked the link and not seen it there. Apologies for the error! The lyric video will come at a later week.P.P.S. Don't forget to Subscribe to my Youtube page (and turn on notifications).

MORE GREAT CONTENT

SOCIALS

Follow me on your favourite platform. Hint: I'm most active on Instagram 

Reply

or to participate.