Week #27 (July 1-7, 2019)

Dealing w/ Uninformed Criticism + NEW MUSIC!

 

 Week #27 (July 1-7, 2019) - NEW MUSIC: Uninformed Criticism 

Today is new music day. Terence Penny, a fellow artist friend, asked me to be a part of his new song called "Details" (see below), to which I obliged. At first listen, it might sound like a "Forget the haters. Imma do my own thing" kinda song. But it's more than that, so I thought to provide a little more insight into the message.The world (especially the internet) is an interesting place where people often feel empowered to have opinions on things for which they have neither context, nor knowledge. So "Details" has 2 audiences in mind; the criticized and the uninformed critic.To the criticized the message is simple. No one is an island, so you are only accountable to God and your immediate circle of accountability. Outside of that vertical and immediate horizontal relationships, your responsibilities to heed the criticisms of others drops precipitously. Of course if you have a public platform, you have a responsibility to steward it well, and we are all to remain humble by considering the views of others, but do not let yourself be crippled by the opinions of people who frankly do not matter.To the uninformed critic, it serves neither you nor your victim to lob baseless accusations. In fact, it probably speaks more to your own insecurities than anything. So work on yourself and find something better to do with your time.My LyricsYou know more times I don’t say the things I preeBecause your time’s just not worth the wins I seeGo live your life, your lifeSun’s bright outsideYou know you alive today,There’s a better way you can spend your day//My people got a thing they say,Come a little closer, let me give you some game,Make you no dey comprehend every voiceYou know empty barrel sabi, dem go make the most noise//I ain’t got time for this,Never waste my gift just to write a diss,But I know they’ll ride to this,So I got to put up with it!//BONUS: True freedom both from the uninformed criticisms of others and from making such criticisms comes in Christ.Without further delay, enjoy the song. Add it to your playlists and share it.  Until next week, #KnowItsRealP.S. Have you ever received uninformed criticism? How'd you handle it?

MORE GREAT CONTENT

SOCIALS

Follow me on your favourite platform. Hint: I'm most active on Instagram 

Reply

or to participate.