Week #37 (Sep.9-15, 2019)

The Impact You're Having 💥

 

Week #37 (Sep.9-15, 2019) - The Impact You're Having!

Last week, I asked you write me back answering the question, “Are you still finding these weekly newsletters helpful/informative?” I got a fairly large number of responses, all of which were extremely positive. Here are some; 

"Yes I am. Learning from your mistakes and your non mistakes to help me learn how to navigate some things in life. Although I'm not in the music sphere there are still a lot of lessons that I learn when I read these news letters. God Bless." -Kelechi I."Hello Shopé. I find these encouraging. Seeing someone else going through struggles as they are pressing forward is helpful." -Youngdo K."Shopé, I personally am loving the emails. It allows me to keep up with you in a deeper way than your Facebook posts. I also love to be challenged in ways that I hadn't thought of...I encourage you to keep going with these..." -Joel K.

"Any bit of light, positivity and encouragement in the darkness of social media and the www, is needed. Keep doing your thing my Man " -J.J"Hey brother, we met in Canada about 3 or 4 years back...I’m a church planter in East Africa now.  Yes, I get your emails...My favorite one recently was your perspective on the Notre Dame fire. You are a gifted writer. And I see courage mixed with humility.  That’s grace in your life." -Michael G."Yessir" -Tomiwa O.

I love the succinctness of Tomiwa's response 😂. Thank you to all who responded, I was greatly encouraged. Reading your responses also reminded me of something I had forgotten. We often don’t know the level of impact we’re having on others. It might sound silly, but I tend to forget that people ACTUALLY listen to the things I have to say. But this isn’t the first time, someone has told me something they heard me say in passing touched them in a deep way. I cherish the moments I hear your personal stories because they remind me of why I got into this thing in the first place. Amidst the crazy schedules, trips, planning, budgeting and strategy meetings, it gets exhausting and more difficult to accurately measure not only the size, but also the quality of the impact you’re having. The numbers (sales, streams, social following, etc), might give you an insight into the size (assuming they are real numbers), but the stories tell you the quality of the impact. That’s why I put out the call last week. So thank you once again, for the overwhelmingly positive responses.So like I was reminded, today I remind you to keep loving, to keep serving. Many of the things you say/do that you don’t give much thought to could actually be having a significant effect on someone watching. You may think your voice doesn’t carry, but in fact it does. The truth is we probably will never fully grasp the extent of the influence we’re having on others. But I don’t think it’s our job to know that. Our job is simply to sow the seeds of goodwill and have them multiply in whatever capacity God sees fit. So “let us not grow weary of doing good, for in due season we will reap, if we do not give up.” (Gal.6:9)Until next week, 

#KnowItsRealP.S. New Music coming sooooon 😎

MORE GREAT CONTENT

SOCIALS

Follow me on your favourite platform. Hint: I'm most active on Instagram 

Reply

or to participate.