Week #38 (Sep.16-22, 2019)

Step by Step...Step by Step 👣

 

Week #38 (Sep.16-22, 2019) - Step By Step...Step By Step!

It’s pretty much impossible to attain to any measure of greatness without beginning or at the very least, engaging in massive projects. These projects will have multiple moving parts, involve several stakeholders and in many cases, span many years. At the onset of said project, it’s very easy to get discouraged when you consider the magnitude of the task ahead. You look up at mountain of responsibilities and say to yourself “There is no way I can get all this done!”. But how do you scale the great wall of China? One step at a time. I have 2 illustrations;1.) This Newsletter is 1 YEAR OLD!!! 🎉🎉🎉My first weekly newsletter was sent out on September 14, 2018. Can you believe it’s already been a year? Before starting it, I considered the idea for a few months wondering if it’s necessary and sustainable. In the end, I committed to it, not really knowing what I would write about beyond the first 3 weeks. 53 weeks later, not a single week has been without an article. And believe me there were opportunities.Some weeks I didn’t feel like writing. Other weeks I wanted to, but suffered writer’s block. And then there were schedule-altering trips and life events that required I get innovative in order to still deliver a post. I credit the consistency to God’s grace and growing discipline. Before I knew it, a full calendar year’s worth of valuable, re-purposable content has been created. I’m pretty proud of myself first, for just doing it. It’s proof I can tackle some of the bigger projects I’ve had in the back of my mind for a few years. Lord willing, you will see those come to fruition in time. Second, I know many of you have found these articles encouraging, which was my mission when I first set out to write them.So keep your head down, and keep plugging away at it one step at a time. Before you realize it, you’ll look back and realize you’ve already traveled a million miles.2.) JUNO MasterclassThe JUNO Awards (Canada’s HIGHEST musical institution…think GRAMMYs) just announced this year’s JUNO Masterclass artist roster. You can read more about it below.I generally find it difficult to live in the moment as I’m always thinking to the next goal. But when they made the announcement on Thursday, I allowed myself for a few minutes to soak where I am in my career and the opportunities that lay ahead. So take what follows not as bragging, but as an honest and gracious account. Also take it as motivation in your pursuits.I will be mentored by, and connected to Canada’s leading music industry elite. These are the biggest music decision makers in the ENTIRE COUNTRY, all of whom have an international reach! That’s wild to think about.My name and music are now circling in the highest musical offices in the land. My music is playing on national platforms, and I now have friends and partners I never would have dreamed up 10 years ago. I haven’t reached all my goals yet (I don’t know that I ever will), but they’re so close I can taste them. I mean I’ve always felt my talents are strong enough to compete at the highest levels, and I’ve always strived for it. But ultimately, you cautiously believe because you simply don’t know if opportunities will match your preparation. There are thousands (maybe millions) of super talented creatives, who don’t make it to global status. Their contributions are nonetheless equally as valuable as those of the megastars, but the majority of the world never benefits from their creations because it simply wasn’t meant to be. We all Iive in the light of God’s sovereignty. Because of this, I have cautiously believed. Now here I am closer than ever, with the future looking brighter than ever. But this is 10 years in the making. Step after step, show after show, song after song. I wrote about the little things some time back. Here I am again, reminded of this with the 2019/2020 JUNO Masterclass announcement. The message is simple; step by step. Your goals may differ. They may be career, personal or other life goals. Whatever it is, remember this, all you have is today. All you have is this next step. Don’t panic about Steps 10, 7 or even 2. Just take this step right in front of you. Make the right decision today. Do that one thing today. Easy or hard, do it!Until next week, 

#KnowItsRealP.S. Would you want these weekly articles in video form (Youtube) where I can expound even further on topics? Let me know by responding.

MORE GREAT CONTENT

SOCIALS

Follow me on your favourite platform. Hint: I'm most active on Instagram 

Reply

or to participate.