Week #38 (Sep.17-23, 2018)

Week #38 - 1 MILLION is not enough!

 

Week #38 (Sep. 17-23, 2018) - 1 MILLION is not enough!

Hope you had a good & productive week. This week, I hit a pretty big milestone. I officially crossed 1 MILLION streams on Spotify alone (this isn't accounting for the other platforms). I should have been ecstatic right?! But frankly I wasn't. I didn't even think much about it......at least not initially.You see, I posted it on my

because I knew it was content to share. It was something that many would appreciate and as an independent artist, you're supposed to share these moments. But while I was thankful, I really didn't think it was a big deal. But then something happened. As I kept receiving multiple congratulations via likes, comments, shares, calls, conversations, etc., it once again dawned on me that 1 million streams is indeed a big deal and was nothing to scoff at. My gratitude and appreciation to God and my fans grew as the days progressed.So why was I initially unimpressed by this achievement?! Simple: COMPARISON. I was comparing my numbers to other artists (some of whom are my personal friends) who's numbers exceed mine. One close artist friend has 14+ MILLION streams, another is approaching the 10M mark. And then there are the megastars who dwell in the 100M stratosphere. And in there was my problem. I was too busy looking at what others have, that I wasn't appreciating what God has so graciously given me. The fact is, it is the Lord who determines the boundaries of our territories. He is the one who gives and takes. And in His wisdom He dispenses what brings Him the most glory and is best for us. I had to remember that. I had to remember that, in His wisdom, God has blessed me with music that has been listened to over 1 million times. That in itself is something some have not experienced, and many others never will. So thank you to all my supporters who unknowingly reminded me of this reality. Who reminded me the importance of looking at what has been given, instead of coveting what hasn't.This line between ambition & contentment is something I'm never quite balancing well. As a human (not to mention an entrepreneur), your mind is always wired for more. But as a Christian, I am called to be content with the Lord's provision. The battle continues....Until next week, #KnowItsRealAgain, see below for more of my content I'm sure you'll be interested in.

SHORT FILM

I love telling stories. That's why my latest project, "XXY" was both music and a short film. It's cryptic, moody, and most importantly, beautiful.

MUSIC

Without a doubt, "Stay" is my most popular song to date, having been streamed hundreds of thousands of times. So while I was on tour in the UK a little while back, I got together with the awesome people over at The Good Christian Music Blog for a Sinai Session to record an acoustic version of the song. Let's just say, folks are loving this one too.

UPCOMING CONCERTS

Catch me in your city. Click the photo

Reply

or to participate.