Week #39 (Sep.23-29, 2019)

Long Live The Good!

 

Week #39 (Sep.23-29, 2019) - Long Live The Good!

A couple of weeks ago, I woke up to new notifications on one of my Youtube videos that's about 8 months old. Initially, I didn’t pay much mind to it, thinking it was just the unpredictable algorithm gnomes at work. However, as the day progressed, more notifications kept rolling in. At that point, I decided to investigate. A number of the comments referenced “The Ace Family” so punching those letters into the Youtube search bar, I came to learn that they are a mega popular Youtube family. Millions of subscribers, billions (yes that's a "b") of views and a near-hypnotic influence on their fanbase. As it turns out, they used one of my songs in what was that week, their latest episode. Interestingly, the content of that episode was long anticipated, so their rabid fanbase ate it up. What was really cool about my song placement was that, they didn’t explicitly shoutout the song, it was simply used during cut scenes. But that alone was enough to drive some viewers to Shazam it, then find the song on my Youtube page and other platforms. New listeners poured in off that initial placement, boosting the song’s numbers.Naturally, I was extremely grateful, so in addition to shouting out the Ace Family on my socials, I tracked down the videographer and thanked him personally for choosing to use my song as part of the episode's soundtrack - it was properly cleared, in case you’re wondering. After that experience roughly 2 weeks ago, I was happy but left it there, feeling very appreciative. Over the next 2 weeks the surge of views and comments slowly trickled down as I expected it to. Then it happened again. I woke up to a barrage of new comments all once again, referencing the same Youtube channel. Turns out, they used the song again in another episode, and this time, in a more upfront and prominent way. The surge of streams/views, comments, and subscribers to my channel has since far surpassed the initial occurrence. What's more, many comments were begging for a lyric video.So a lyric video for “SIGHT” is on the way and should be here before next week (***INSERT PLUG TO SUBSCRIBE TO MY YOUTUBE CHANNEL AND TURN ON NOTIFICATIONS SO YOU DON'T MISS IT WHEN IT DROPS 😏). The picture above is a storyboard sketch of the video.I was speaking to a friend about this experience, sharing my surprise that the song being over 8 months old is only now gaining momentum, thanks to the mystery of the internet. His response was simple and profound. He said, “It shows you that good music has no expiration date”. I found that so encouraging because I do indeed wonder if the window of opportunity is lost with some of my content. I strive to create valuable content (music, videos, articles, products/services etc.) that will stand the test of time, but I’m also keenly aware of the ravenous buffet that is the internet. Thousands of songs, albums and videos are being released every single week, and the mantra “Content is king” continually swirls around. We’re inundated with far more information than any one of us could ever possibly consume in a thousand lifetimes. So when a piece of content doesn’t get the initial attention I hope it does, it’s easy to feel like it was a wasted moment that will forever be buried in the dusty annals of the internet archives. Yet this weird thing happened. It underscores what my friend suggested. Recasted in a more generally applicable manner, that which is good and true never dies. That was a very necessary reminder for me this week.So keep striving to create value for others and putting it out into the world. It’ll reap a harvest in time. Your value might be a public good or service that benefits the broader demographic. Or it might be a private affair such as being a faithful parent shepherding your child’s heart. You might be publicly recognized for it, or you may go unknown to the vast majority of people. But do not think for a second your contribution was moot. Keep sowing good and it WILL reap a harvest. Long Live the Good.

Until next week, 

#KnowItsRealP.S. Still not subscribed to my Youtube channel?! Why? Don't Play Yourself. Subscribe HERE!

MORE GREAT CONTENT

SOCIALS

Follow me on your favourite platform. Hint: I'm most active on Instagram 

Reply

or to participate.