Week #45 (Nov.5-11, 2018)

15 Years Saved (Pt. 2)

 

Week #45 (Nov.5-11, 2018) - 15 YEARS SAVED (Part 2)

Last week, I talked about how this past Halloween, October 31, 2018 officially marked 15 years of being a Christian. Then you read my story of exactly how that came about. This week, I want to share 3 lessons/tips I've learnt (and still learning) along the way, that will help with your maturing in your journey (if you are indeed a Christian).I do not claim to be an expert, nor do I claim to have it figured out. In fact, the further along I get in this walk, the less I realize I know. So I’m speaking more as a fellow traveler and less as a veteran sage.1. Mentors! Mentors! Mentors!It's quite basic, I know, but it's true. At every stage in the past 15 years, I have always had a handful of people who know me intimately. First it was Jeff who was my confidant, and encourager when I first came to the faith. I had MANY MANY MANY "I'm done! I'm gonna quit” moments. But thanks to Jeff's wise and encouraging words, I was always reminded that God didn't quit forgiving with me, so why would I quit accepting his mercy. Jeff was particularly important in my formative years, and we still remain friends today. Over the years, I've added a few more guys to my inner circle whom I seek wisdom and counsel from. There's my dad, my brothers, Tim, Paul, Peter and Steve. I know that at any time during the day or night, I can reach out to any of them for support, and they gladly give it. Importantly, these guys aren't afraid to correct me either if they notice me acting out of pocket. Another cool thing to note is that I consider all these guys to be more mature than I am, although to varying degrees. In a weird way, they represent different stages of maturity between where I currently am, and where I want to be. As a result, looking at any of their lifestyles is always inspirational without being intimidating. I know these guys aren't perfect, but I definitely have grown by allowing them access into ALL the nooks and crannies of my life.2. Serving OthersAs I have always surrounded myself with men & women more mature than I, I have also at several times tried to pour into the lives of those less mature than I am. This can be intimidating because I am all too aware of my own weaknesses. The fear of not measuring up or being an ideal role model is always a constant pull to simply take without giving to others. It persists, but I'm learning that God doesn't demand perfection in order to be used. In fact, the Bible is littered with many flawed people whom He used (i.e. King David, Moses, Noah, Rahab). He simply demands a humble and repentant spirit. So despite my fears, I pour into different guys because I realize that as I needed (and still need) support, they do too. Not to mention the fact that being accountable to them, does in fact push me to greater godliness. 3. Being RealThere's a reason #KnowItsReal defines my entire direction. I believe God is a real God, for real people, with real issues. The Bible describes God as being "near to the brokenhearted" (Psalm 34:18) and as "being able to sympathize with our weaknesses" (Heb.4:15). In another passage, it says, "He knows our frame and remembers we are dust" (Psalm 103:14). I don't know about you, but I need to be reminded of God's open handedness towards me. The world both without and within are dark, and amidst this darkness it's easy to doubt His goodness, my worth or even Him altogether. But when I am reminded that He cares about every single aspect of our lives, even our fears and doubts, I can take those very things to Him. You don't have to be a hero in this Christian life - that's what Jesus is.  Having fears, anxieties or insecurities doesn't make you a bad Christian, so you don't have to muscle through them. To be completely honest, I don't even think there's a single Christian who hasn't at some point even questioned their entire belief system. I know I have. But I also know I'm not the only one who's ever doubted even the most basic parts of their faith. But again, God doesn't require perfection, He just requires humility. So be real and take even those doubts to Him.You feel like you're losing your faith? Tell him you feel like you're losing your faith? You're struggling with the same issue for the millionth time?! Tell him! You're having an amazing season on the clouds?! Tell Him!The point is, be real with God and with yourself. But here's what I'm not saying; I am not saying being real means chalking everything up to "that's just the way I am". It means being honest with where/who you are AND where/who you should be. The gap between where you are and where you should be is where God operates. And that gap is the best place to be. But you can't be somewhere you don't acknowledge exists. So be real with yourself and with God.Additionally, the more real you are with yourself and God, the more real you are with other people. You inevitably become more compassionate as you reflect on God's compassion toward you.Finally, being real enables you practise the first two lessons. You're real enough to know you need support, so you surround yourself with those people. You're also real enough to notice other people's need of support, so you provide that for them. 

These 3 lessons are far from exhaustive, but they are just some of the things I'm learning in 15 years of walking with God.Until next week, #KnowItsRealP.S. I really enjoyed reading your stories of how you came to believe. So tell me; am I forgetting anything? What kinds of things have you learned in your journey? Let me know by responding to this email!

MUSIC: Classics

I've been making music for more than a few years. So I'm going to starthighlighting some classic records you may or may not know about. These are fan favourites, so enjoy. This week, listen to the upbeat anthem, "Power".

MUSIC: The Latest

The official remix project to the original "XXY". This project features 6 remixes including 2 of the uber popular "Stay" with production from UK powerhouses, HXLY KXSS, and WYLD, and US-based Quinten Coblentz. The same songs you already know and love, re-imaginged!

YOUTUBE

Touring as an independent artist isn’t easy, but it’s so worth it.  Thanks to everyone who came out to the the "Days To Love" Tour, making it a great experience. Watch & don't forget to sub.

UPCOMING CONCERTS

Catch me in your city. Click the photo

Reply

or to participate.