Week #46 (Nov.12-18, 2018)

The Present is a Gift! 🎁

 

Week #46 (Nov.12-18, 2018) - The Present is a Gift!

My wife’s been on vacation for about a month which means our typically hectic schedule has been a little more settled. Usually between her work, my work, and other work-related travelling, we rely on a roster of trusted babysitters as well as family to help with caring for Mason in the event we’re both working. We do the best we can.So naturally, my wife completely being off work the past month has been a relief in many ways. That being said, anyone who has a toddler knows it’s a full time job keeping them entertained, active and stimulated for the 12-16 hours they’re awake each day. Add an incredibly short attention span to a lack of impulse control and you can see how this gets very exhausting, very quickly. Of course, I try to help, but undoubtedly, my wife is taking on the lionshare of caring for our son, because I’m out of the house several hours a day, almost everyday of the week. I am typically home on weekends, unless I have an event/concert/tour, etc.As the weeks have passed by, she’s of course getting tired - how ironic being on vacation. The other day, after taking care of Mason all day by herself, look what she texted me.

Did you notice that? Almost as soon as she acknowledged the difficulty of the season, she also acknowledged the inherent blessing. Mason will only be one and a half once. And for all of his toddler needs, he truly is a joy to be around. He’s discovering the world, learning new things, talking-ish and my wife was wise enough in that moment to realize that she will only get these moments once. They will very quickly fade from reality to memory. As he grows he will present us with new parenting challenges and we will long for the days when to him a broom handle was the most exciting thing in the world. We will long for the days when with eager expectation he looked to see if we noticed him climbing onto the couch all by himself. We will long for the days when he would sing his heart out, then give himself an applause and then look to us to also applaud him. We will long for these and a million other tiny little moments. I have never more vividly seen illustrated the lesson of enjoying the journey, than in that moment when my wife texted,

“But although days like that are hard I am SOOOOOOO SOOOOOOO thankful for all the days I get to spend with him”.

I haven’t reached many of my goals yet, and I too often lament the difficulties of the path I have chosen. I too often fantasize of what the destination will be like, ignoring the beauty right now in the journey. The present is a gift, that's why it's called the "present". Kinda cheesy I know, but my wife helped me remember this, and she didn’t even realize it. She really is a gem, and I thank the good Lord for her!Until next week, #KnowItsRealP.S. What are some tangible blessings you can point to in your current journey (be specific)? Let me know by responding to this email!

MUSIC: Classics

I've been making music for more than a few years. So I'm going to starthighlighting some classic records you may or may not know about. These are fan favourites, so enjoy. This week, here's another upbeat anthem, "Every Single Day".

MUSIC: The Latest

The official remix project to the original "XXY". This project features 6 remixes including 2 of the uber popular "Stay" with production from UK powerhouses, HXLY KXSS, and WYLD, and US-based Quinten Coblentz. The same songs you already know and love, re-imaginged!

YOUTUBE

Touring as an independent artist isn’t easy, but it’s so worth it.  Thanks to everyone who came out to the the "Days To Love" Tour, making it a great experience. Watch & don't forget to sub.

UPCOMING CONCERTS

Catch me in your city. Click the photo

Reply

or to participate.