Week #48 (Nov.25-Dec.2, 2018)

Lessons from Paris ⚜🇫🇷

 

Week #48 (Nov.26-Dec.2, 2018) - Never Lose The Wonder! 

To be honest, I’m kind of jaded when it comes to the music industry. Before you shoot me, here’s the truth; most people in the industry are. Some say it’s inevitable, necessary even. But I still believe that hard as it might be, one can still keep a purity of soul.By the way, when I say “jaded”, I don’t mean, I’ve lost my motivation to continue. I just mean, I’m no longer as naive or starry-eyed about certain aspects of the industry as I once was. So how did I get here? Simple; I got in! I got in and began to learn the ropes of how your favourite artists became your favourite artists.FYI, the rules that govern the Christian industry aren’t too different from those that govern the mainstream industry. It isn’t all bad, but it isn’t all good either.In any case, I got in, and quickly learned that it’s very much a dog-eat-dog world so you’ve got to protect your neck. Especially within the Christian industry (which is where I began), once you learn that the gears moving the industry aren’t so spiritual (as the products of the industry would have you believe), your thinking changes. You accept the reality of the rules and decide either to exit or play ball. In other words, you become jaded.Should you choose to play ball (as I have), one of the downsides of being jaded is you can begin to lose sight of why you started making music in the first place; to display Christ and glorify God. Many decisions are reduced to political maneuvers that serve to benefit your brand and bottom line. That’s not to say, some of these decisions don’t also serve your original mission. While they still can, the mission can quickly become an after-thought, second to the advancement of your personal career. So that’s where I am now. Trying desperately to balance Christ & commerce. Enter Paris!This past week I was in Paris with my fellow artist friend Dru Bex for a concert. Check out this sweet Instagram recap (HINT HINT 😜). Anyways, for the 3 days we were there, we spent a lot of time with our hosts (also an artist with his team) shuffling from music video shoots, to a radio interview to the actual concert. All the while I was with them, I couldn’t help but notice a vigour I hadn’t seen in a while. Interestingly, this vigour wasn’t the result of a major career advancement. It was from a passion to see Christ exalted through their art. They told us their testimonies (they were INCREDIBLE) and we spent much of our time talking not about industry happenings, but about God’s goodness to us. I can’t remember the last time that happened when hanging out with industry friends. I was refreshed. I was encouraged. I was reminded of a time when I wasn’t jaded and didn’t immediately perform a financial/career calculus when faced with a music decision. Simply, I was reminded not to lose the wonder of why I started making music. That’s not to say the style of music can’t change (it can). But it does mean the purpose shouldn’t change. The purpose of displaying Christ, and glorifying God. I’m so thankful to my Parisian friends for this reminder.To be clear, when it comes to Christ and commerce, I don’t believe the 2 are at odds with each other. I just think it’s hard to keep both in proper balance when so much of this industry is about personal branding and when, let’s face it, money makes the world go round.I also have to stress that I am NOT denouncing any one artist/label/industry person. It is possible to skillfully balance the mission of Christ with the need for commercial success and there are people out there doing it well. As I continue to pursue this passion, I just pray the Lord would lead me to more of these people whom I can learn from.Until next week, #KnowItsRealP.S. How about you, what are some of the things that compete with the mission?

MUSIC: Classics

I've been making music for more than a few years. So I'm going to starthighlighting some classic records you may or may not know about. These are fan favourites, so enjoy. This week, is the atmospheric, "Getaway". I wrote this song when I knew my wife needed time away from it all. 

MUSIC: The Latest

The official remix project to the original "XXY". This project features 6 remixes including 2 of the uber popular "Stay" with production from UK powerhouses, HXLY KXSS, and WYLD, and US-based Quinten Coblentz. The same songs you already know and love, re-imaginged!

SOCIALS

Follow me on your favourite platform. Hint: I'm most active on Instagram 

Reply

or to participate.