Week #51 (Dec.17-23, 2018)

2018 was one BUSY year!

 

Week #51 (Dec.17-23, 2018) - 2018 Year in Music

At this point we are just over a week away from the end of 2018 (11 days to be exact) and what a year it’s been. Next week, I’ll share thoughts about my 2018, as well as hopes for 2019. But for now, I thought I’d try something cool. This year has been my most active year musically, so here’s a chronological musical timeline of how the year went. Consider this “Shope’s 2018 Year in Music”.

JANUARY - Come Wid It (LISTEN)

Kicked off the year with what is currently my biggest song to date (it’s actually tied with ‘Stay’). The music video dropped in February.

APRIL - Getaway (LISTEN)

Smooth, atmospheric and totally unexpected, Getaway set the tone for what was to come the following month.

MAY - XXY (WATCH/ LISTEN)

She is XX, He is XY, together they are XXY. The connection between man & woman is magical and mysterious, so it’s worth talking about. This project and its accompanying short film, reacquainted me with old fans and introduced me to new ones, functioning as a definitive marker of my new musical direction.

JUNE - XXY (Commentary)(LISTEN)

Track by track breakdown of what inspired each song as well as some cool easter eggs.

JULY - Stay (GCM Sinai Sessions) (WATCH | LISTEN)

My good friends (pun intended) at “The Good Christian Music Blog” and I got together while I was in the UK and recorded this acoustic version of the original hit. There’s also a video of this version.

JULY - That Fire (LISTEN)

Ms. Unstoppable herself, Angie Rose hit me up to put out a joint single. Her Puerto Rican fuego (fire),  with my Nigerian gbedu (afrobeat sound) fused to create this summer classic.

OCTOBER - XXY (Remixes) (LISTEN)

I contacted some producer friends who were more than happy to re-imagine some of the fan favourites off XXY.

Those were my solo releases. Then there are other artists’ songs I featured on.

So there you go! As you can see, it was a very active year, one that I’m extremely proud of and grateful for. I list all these, not to toot my own horn but to reflect on what prayer, diligence and dedication can produce. If you missed a release, here’s your definitive guide to get you all caught up. Happy Watching/Listening!And of course, from my family & I, we wish you and yours a VERY MERRY CHRISTMAS! Until next week, #KnowItsRealP.S. How was your 2018? Would you say it was a productive year?

SOCIALS

Follow me on your favourite platform. Hint: I'm most active on Instagram 

Reply

or to participate.