When will it get easy?

When will it get easy? 😫

 

Hey, hope you're well.Here's your digest for this week. Hope you find these, inspiring and encouraging.

THOUGHT OF THE WEEK

When will it get easy?(approximately 3 min read)This week started fantastic. With the release of my new song and influx of new clients in one of my businesses, energy and momentum have been high.The work has been a lot, but over the past few months (particularly in recent weeks), I have been working at refining my team and building more systems to maintain a standard of excellence.Whereas in the past, I’ve been happy to take on more work and “do it myself”, I’ve come to realize that is the path to nowhere quick.Growth and scale comes with systems, part of which includes key team members.At any rate, I’ve hired & trained new members over the previous weeks, which is why although a lot, the work has been manageable.Incidentally, I recently started reading “The 4hr Workweek” by Tim Ferris (I’m sure you’ve heard about it), and was thrilled to discover that I was already implementing a number of the life changing strategies he recommends.So I’ve been relishing in the satisfaction that my system is coming together.Workflow and team responsibilities are moving well. The ship is moving.Outside of work, my wife and I have also been planning the months, part of which includes out-of-town trips she’ll be taking.Typically, when this happens, we have sitters who help take care of the kids, so I can work.All it seems has been moving swimmingly.That brings us to this week.My wife had/has an immovable 5 day trip, but had scheduled the sitters.A day before her trip, one of our sitters unfortunately cancelled due to an emergency. This meant I would step in and care for my kids while trying to get some measure of work done.In case you didn’t know, my kids are 2, 4, and 6 years old, respectively.“No worries,” I thought to myself, “I can delegate more tasks that day to a team member”.Imagine my surprise when the day came and a crucial team member (the one I was going to delegate work to), reluctantly resigned from the position for personal reasons.So not only did I have less time, I now had more work.“Had more work” isn’t quite accurate. “Have more work” better describes the current situation because like I said, the member resigned.At worst, I now have to do the work myself for a little while, and at best, I have to find a replacement - which is a lot of work in and of itself.Why am I telling you this?Because charting your own course (i.e. entrepreneurship) isn’t always glamourous. In fact, it often is not.Perhaps like others, I have been guilty of glossing over the difficult moments, emphasizing only the successes.Well, this is a difficult moment - and it’s happening right now.But to be honest, this is not new.On any given day, I’m trying to solve one problem or another.  So often, moments of great joy are followed by intense challenge.Such is the way of the world.But I choose to persevere, knowing that like other hurdles I’ve overcome, this will soon become another memory marker when I advance to the next stage of my business. And I am very aware that that next stage will present its own new set of challenges.So I’m learning to stop asking, “When will it get easy?”But instead to ask, “What do I need to remain prepared for the next phase?”Take this as encouragement in your journey.If it feels difficult, it’s because it is.I can’t promise you it’ll ever get easy, but I can promise, you will get stronger if you just keep going.

SONG I ENJOYED THIS WEEK

Majid Jordan - Violet (Official Lyric Video)

Don't know how to describe the sound of this song, other than to call it smooth and synthy. Retro pop are perhaps the words I'm looking for. However you classify this, give it a listen. I've been enjoying it.Listen now by clicking below or the image.

VIDEO I ENJOYED THIS WEEK

Binance Fined $4.3 Billion, CEO Pleads GUILTY

Another case of money gone wrong by another beloved crypto golden boy. Does this speak to a fundamental problem with the tech or are these bad actors is what is currently a great, albeit unregulated space? I'll let you decide.Watch by clicking the image.

That's it for this week.Love you,ShopéP.S. Have you heard my latest song Ten (Mewa) and watched my latest YT video, 10 Surprising Habits that changed my life?

SOCIALS

Follow me on your favourite platform. Hint: I'm most active on YT & Tik Tok 

Reply

or to participate.